Nitrates to high

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by Tiger eye, 7 Dec 2011.

  1. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    Higuys im siting with a problem, my nitrates stay at 50 Even after doing a 33% water change. All the other parametors are corect and even my corals look happy but i lost a fire shrimp and a boxer shrimp. I would very much like to get two cleaner shrimp but i first want to get the nitrates right and stable.

    Can anny body help with ideas?
    I do 33% water changes a month and use Seachem reef Salt.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    How much do you feed and how often?

    How is the flow in the tank?

    What skimmer are you running? Size of tank.


    I've battled with nitrates for years, and ever since I installed a sulphur reactor, my nitrates are less than 5ppm.
     
  4. Jamie@Vertex

    Jamie@Vertex

    Joined:
    6 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    189
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    Tell us a bit about your filtering system. Water changes are not enough to control nutrients in most cases. By NO3, I strongly recommend some kind of carbon dosing. I use Vertex Pro-Bio Pellets with great success. NO3 is about 0.25 constantly
     
  5. skairik

    skairik

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California - Inland Empire
    Post a few more details about your system, such as TWV (total water volume), bio-load, skimmer size and what method(s) besides water changes you're using for nutrient export. I agree that water changes are not enough to control NO3 exclusively.
     
  6. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    also how accurate is your test kit, have you had your water tested else where? is it expired? which brand?
     
  7. salty dog

    salty dog

    Joined:
    7 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    20 000 leagues under the sea
    How long has your tank been running?
     
  8. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Use Microbelift Special Blend and Nite Out II to get your bacterial population going, consume your nutrients and stabalise those paramaters
     
    LuckyFish and dallasg like this.
  9. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    Hi guys
    I feed a pinch twice a day and my total water volume is 150 litersand i have 11 fish.
    sump is as folows: 900 x 300 x 400 and 4 compartments.
    1st: TS 1 skimmer and DIY algea scruber.
    2nd: live rock with milions of cluster dusters and a 300W heater.
    3rd: DSB
    4th: Sponge filter and a DIY Carbon and Fosfate Reactor and 2000 l/h return pump.
    I try to do maintenance once a week.
    I have a RO unit for top ups and water changes.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    My Cluster Duster Farm
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    Sorry I forgot to say the tank has been runing for a year and a half.
     
  11. Jamie@Vertex

    Jamie@Vertex

    Joined:
    6 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    189
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    With your set-up, I'm surprised tha NO3 is a problem. I would get a second opinion on water testing. What is the PO4 level? You could have phosphate limitation, which is rare, but does happen. Although a DSB should be chewing up the NO3 in any case.

    Beautiful worms. Don't you just love 'em?
     
    Last edited: 8 Dec 2011
    dallasg likes this.
  12. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    PO4 is not regestering, it shows 0
     
  13. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    i agree with Jamie, i think your test kit is bombed
     
  14. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    I went away for ten days, my house sitter didn't do what hes was told, NO3 at 30, after being at 1ppm for months, lost two cleaners and two snails! I know how youo feel! SORRY MAN!
     
  15. Jamie@Vertex

    Jamie@Vertex

    Joined:
    6 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    189
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    What brand test kits are you using?
     
  16. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    30ppm is not high, i really doubt you lost them due to that
     
  17. Jamie@Vertex

    Jamie@Vertex

    Joined:
    6 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    189
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    I would agree with Dallas, it may have been a part of the problem, but I think it was a combi-shock. Maybe O2 depletion was involved.
     
  18. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    Ime using Sera Marine test kit.
     
  19. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    i would take it to Dorry Pets, they are your closets seeing your profile and ask them to confirm
    also get your PO4 tested
     
  20. Tiger eye

    Tiger eye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Centurion, PTA
    That sound s like a good idea bevore i go spend mony. Thanks for all the coments and help. Ill report on what dorry finds.
     
  21. Jamie@Vertex

    Jamie@Vertex

    Joined:
    6 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    189
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Germany
    Sounds like a plan! Sera kits are not accurate enough for low readings. For PO4 try an D-D/Rowa, Macherey-Nagel or similar, as these read well into the <0.10 area. A Hanna meter is, also, good.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Nitrates high Forum Date
Urgent help needed Nitrates very high!! Help Urgent Help Needed 22 Jan 2016
Nitrates too high!!! General Discussions and Advice 24 Jun 2013
Own stupidity causes high nitrates. Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 10 Dec 2011
HIGH nitrates Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 17 Feb 2008
Reducing Nitrates & Phosphates Water Parameters and Additives 28 Nov 2016
Nitrates too low? Water Parameters and Additives 4 Nov 2016
increasing nitrates to get rid of phosphates? General Discussions and Advice 24 Sep 2013