Need some advise

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by ml, 27 Dec 2008.

  1. ml

    ml

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    983
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rangsview X4 (krugersdorp)
    Hi

    I was wounderring if you could put your DSB with you skimmer and not in another camber

    PS back from ST Lucia
     
    Last edited: 27 Dec 2008
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    well, you would suck up all your pods etc, with a possibility of sand into your pumps. maybe you might also stir up the sand too much. so i would say no. welcome back:)
     
  4. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    It would be difficult not to disturb the DSB when maintaining the skimmer also where would the skimmer outflow go? it would stir up the DSB if it was in the same chamber.
     
  5. ml

    ml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    983
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rangsview X4 (krugersdorp)
    I took the advise you guys gave me and now only have 2-3 bags of chemic rings left and the same for the bioballs

    You guys ROCK!!:thumbup:
     
    Last edited: 27 Dec 2008
  6. ml

    ml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    983
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rangsview X4 (krugersdorp)
    Well my skimmer is fed directly from my tank and only blows out the water at the top of it and some of my overflow water is there for sirculation and that stuff

    Will this be OK?
     
  7. ml

    ml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    983
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rangsview X4 (krugersdorp)
    Does any one in Krugerdorp have an exsta sump thay would like to sell or give a way ?
     
  8. ml

    ml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    983
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rangsview X4 (krugersdorp)
    Where are you People?

    WHere ARE YOU PEOPLE AND WHY DO YOU REPLY
     
  9. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    Easy tiger, it's silly season and many regulars are not on line or even near a computer at the moment.
     
  10. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    please try describe this again, is your overflow split into two where some goes directly into your skimmer and then some dumps into your DSB?
     
  11. ml

    ml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    983
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rangsview X4 (krugersdorp)
    jup just like you said Scuba
     
  12. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    ok then, from what i described your setup is the way i had it when i first started, it works yes, it will be ok. it all depends on how much your DSB is being disturbed
     
  13. goodisor

    goodisor

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Empangeni
    I agree Scuba.My system is almost exactly the same.The only diff is i have a single overflow which travels out of my tank and then splits at a t-piece to the skimmer and DSB.Has been running perfectly for quite some time now.;)But definitely a better idea not to have it in the same chamber as the DSB
     
  14. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    yeah, it is, i changed my set up after a while though. Now everything goes into the initial skimmer chamber and the skimmer takes what it can from there and the rest just goes into the DSB anyway but with less of an impact on disturbing the sand. The same thing in theory but just a lot less tinkering involved
     
  15. goodisor

    goodisor

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Empangeni
    Just to clarify,my wording wasnt accurate....the water goes from the overflow to a t-piece,from the t-piece it splits to the DSB and skimmer and the skimmers outlet goes to the dsb,so at the end of the day it all goes through the dsb and only some goes through the skimmer:)...does that make sense:p
     
  16. ml

    ml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    983
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rangsview X4 (krugersdorp)
    Builing new tank that is 51L X 31B X 15H volume is 23l will this be ok for you. Because my idea does not seem to work , the DSB doesn't get any waterflow
    2) if you have sand in your Display Tank do you need to rake it ofen?
     
  17. goodisor

    goodisor

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Empangeni
    ml I have sugarfine aragonite in my display and ive placed my wavemakers in such a way that there is a constant flow just over the aragonite.That way I dont get any debris settling on it.I also vacuum the not so flowing areas so now and then,but not often.I would say maybe once a month I disturb the arag here and there.;)
     
  18. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    would this be 51 cms X 31cms X 15cms? is this only for the DSB area or the whole sump? is it for the sump?
    this helps, but if you have fish etc that disturb the sand everytime they swim past it helps. Take JBs 20cm regal tang, that thing must kick up a storm with every one of its kicks:yeahdude:
     
  19. ml

    ml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    983
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rangsview X4 (krugersdorp)
    only the Dsb in a speret tank next to sump
     
    Last edited: 28 Dec 2008
  20. scubaninja

    scubaninja

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    6,739
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    well you should make the DSB as big as you have space for, so look to see what space you have, what space you can take from other chambers to use for the DSB and make it as big as possible. 15cms for the glass height is too low. the DSB needs to be that height so the glass height around the DSB should be about 25cms. Your DSB sounds as though it will be big enough. but if you can make it bigger it would be better for you
     
  21. ml

    ml Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    983
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rangsview X4 (krugersdorp)
    sorry a bit to late orady cut the glass and don't have any 5mm left only 10mm and I cant cut it. Can i make the DSB 5-9 cm or do it have to be 15cm ?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Need advise Forum Date
My first marine tank... much needed advise Beginner Discussions 21 Sep 2015
New to this- need some advise please New Members 31 Aug 2015
Pharos lighting - Coral advise needed please Lighting 9 Jun 2015
Need advise on what LEDS to buy and where to buy them? Lighting 7 Jan 2015
GoSlowJoe, new and need some advise :) New Members 17 Oct 2013
urgent advise needed General Discussions and Advice 11 Jun 2012
Serious help and advise needed General Discussions and Advice 10 Feb 2012