Now THIS is how to test your stand...

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by viper357, 21 Aug 2013.

  1. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    28,748
    Likes Received:
    1,011
    [​IMG]

    @Quintin, I challenge you to test your new stand in a similar fashion. :tt2:
     
    Last edited: 26 Nov 2015
  2. Guest




  3. belindamotion

    belindamotion Google Master

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    4,804
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Pinetown,South Africa(KZN)
    What is the chances of that stand being "safe" now..? Surely after a stunt like that the chances are excellent that it would probably have weakend SOMEWHERE..? :blush:
     
    casperman likes this.
  4. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    24,028
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Centurion
    does it sway?
     
  5. Fuzzy

    Fuzzy

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2010
    Posts:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Jhb
    look thats @Quintin in the background :biggrin:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  6. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,243
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
  7. Quintin

    Quintin

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ruimsig
    No probs man.
    But who is gonna help me lift the car? ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  8. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,802
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Sandton
    I have a 10ton forklift and a license to drive it ;)
     
  9. Dian6430

    Dian6430

    Joined:
    22 May 2013
    Posts:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Tsitsikamma EC
    I can always bring the excavator around? Base rock anyone? :tt2:

    image.jpg
     
  10. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    24,028
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Centurion
    Just for science.

    A 50mm square tube 3mm wall thickness.
    1 meter length, setup perfectly vertical. With no movement or swaying.

    Can support just over 9400KG
    yes, almost 10 tons of weight before it gives in.
    You will get the exact figure if you ask the right engineering students.
     
  11. Jayceew

    Jayceew

    Joined:
    20 May 2011
    Posts:
    721
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Pretoria East
    Agreed, square tubing is a lot stronger than what most guys think. Most people over engineer in terms of stands trying to cater for massive downforce where the focus should be more to try and prevent horizontal movement like Riaan mentioned above.

    If you add triangles or more horizontal braces in key areas on a stand there is no reason why you cant use 25mm square tubing for example on most of the tanks on this forum.
    Obviously I would feel safer with 50mm pipes on massive tanks...
     
  12. Yuri

    Yuri

    Joined:
    9 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,999
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Centurion
    It is not that expensive to make an over engineered stand compared to all the pain of loosing lots of livestock and expense, cause the stand broke
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 22 Aug 2013
  13. erratiC

    erratiC

    Joined:
    8 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    859
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Durban
    lol, nvm.
     
    Last edited: 22 Aug 2013
  14. Quintin

    Quintin

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ruimsig
    The stand is made out of 50mm sq tubing that is 3mm thick (1200x100x800), welded with an argon welder and put under an X-ray machine to ensure the welding is 100% with no cracks or stress lines...

    This was done by my neighbour Dave, a structural mining engineer that owns his own workshop and does huge mining projects.
    According to his calculations the stand can take a static weight load of 17,86 tons before starting to buckle.... ;)
     
    Last edited: 23 Aug 2013
  15. Quintin

    Quintin

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ruimsig
    Agreed.
    50mm sq tubing 3mm thick will cost you R326 per 6m length.
    Used 18m of tubing on my stand, giving you a raw materials price of just over R978 plus Vat
     
    Last edited: 23 Aug 2013
  16. Express Reef

    Express Reef

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2011
    Posts:
    2,649
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Vanderbijlpark
    Thats crazy insane boet, you could have use 25mm:lol:
     
  17. Quintin

    Quintin

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ruimsig
    Yea but a total of about R350 less to build....
    Besides, I would not feel comfortable balancing just under 1000Kgs on 25mm tubing.
    Over engineering rules. :thumbup:
     
  18. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    24,028
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Centurion
    that is if the load is a static load. That never moves.

    Even running a magnet cleaner against the glass can cause stand to sway. It needs trusses to prevent movement.

    And a 50mm steel stand just looks so much better than a 25mm stand.
     
  19. JamesHunter

    JamesHunter

    Joined:
    31 Jan 2013
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    4
    Especially when its in a cabinet :tt2:
     
  20. Quintin

    Quintin

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2010
    Posts:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ruimsig
    Ha,ha,ha
    Dont we all do that... :lol: :whistling: :lol:

    But nothing wrong with over engineering things....
    Here is my tank emergency backup.....

    generator.jpg
     
  21. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    24,028
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Centurion
    I do not have a cabinet...:tt2:

    Well, I got the wood to do it. But my sump has always been open. Except the very first tank I had for a couple of months.
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - test stand Forum Date
LAB standards water testing & Pet Stop SA Pet Stop SA 13 Feb 2017
Understanding Testing Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 2 Mar 2011
Ammonia Test Kit "Base Line" Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 17 Jun 2017
My latest addition General Discussions and Advice 7 Jun 2017
Newbie first test Water Parameters and Additives 2 Jun 2017
Lab quality water tests @ discounted prices @ Pet Stop SA Sponsor Specials 21 Apr 2017
[wtd] test kits-pmb Wanted 5 Apr 2017