Water cooled MH

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Fishfood, 5 Jul 2009.

  1. Fishfood

    Fishfood

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    jhb
    I have found a company that sells water cooled metal halide units in the UK.
    What's cool about this is that you can put a really huge wattage such as 400W over your tank without having to install a chiller.
    If I can bring some over would anyone be interested?
     
  2. Guest




  3. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    it all depends on £££
     
  4. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Cape Town
    YEP - Like everything else in these current times, Fishfood. Please find out pricing first?
     
  5. shiks

    shiks

    Joined:
    3 May 2008
    Posts:
    372
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Durban
    i really curious as to how it would work.....does water pass through a layer below the light and disperse the heat ?????????
     
  6. Travis1

    Travis1 (wilsontravy)

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    786
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Durban
    price pls.cant say anything yet.
     
  7. Boendoe

    Boendoe

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2009
    Posts:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wilropark Roodepoort
  8. RUAN

    RUAN

    Joined:
    8 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    cool
     
  9. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Cape Town
    HHHmmmm - ok... I would think that if you want a 150 watt metal halide, YOU WILL BUY ONE. This means, you buy a 400 watt, and get the lighting of a 150 watt out of it.......

    Sorry mate - If you want one - by all means.... but, I would rather buy a 150 watt metal halide, and get 150 watt of lighting output - AND not have heating problems....

    The water will cause you to loose at least 50% of the lighting power....

    My opinion though.
     
  10. OP
    Fishfood

    Fishfood

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    jhb
    Hear what you're saying - would be completely pointless if you lost too much light through the water but no appaently you don't lose anything from the water around the globe - so a 400watt globe will be the same as a 400w globe without the cooling.A pump pumps water through a thin tube around the globe cooling it.The globe is completely cool to the touch.
    Water and air cooled MH units are widely used in hydroponics.
    With a few mods I'm sure they could be used for tanks.
    Want to speak to the manufacturer so if I have a few other people interested I could maybe bring a few over. A 400w unit and a chiller is going to cost around 10k so if I can get something that does the same job for 5k what a bonus
    Just an idea really at the moment
     
  11. OP
    Fishfood

    Fishfood

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    jhb
    Come on Jacquesb I know money is not an issue for you even in these times - your tank is bigger than my house ;)
     
  12. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,052
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    interesting, would that work with std bulbs or are they special?

    I don't think you would loose much at all? the lights going through what, say 20mm of water, that doesn't have the reflection of the water surface of our tanks (I think) then into our tanks, which is +-600mm deep, I think it should be fine....doubt we would loose much, maybe I'm wrong too?:whistling:
     
  13. OP
    Fishfood

    Fishfood

    Joined:
    15 May 2009
    Posts:
    241
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    jhb
    It works with standard bulbs.
    According to the manufacturer you lose nothing.
    They obviously recommend that you use RO or (I think it was) distilled water in the reservoir.
    Obviously if you use water from your fish pond in the garden it's a different story
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Water cooled Forum Date
[wtd] Waterblaster 10000 HY Wanted Saturday at 09:02
Not trying to be funny, but..........my water is too clean! General Discussions and Advice 9 Jul 2017
distiled water quality General Discussions and Advice 5 Jul 2017
Phase 2 done, semi auto water changer Anything DIY Related 3 Jul 2017
[wtd] Cycled water,live sand and live Rock Wanted 19 Jun 2017
Solar heating our water General Discussions and Advice 26 May 2017
Hi fin pangasius help? (Fresh water) Urgent Help Needed 14 May 2017