how do i start???????please help

Discussion in 'New Members' started by NADEEM, 1 Sep 2010.

1. NADEEM

NADEEM

Hi everyone,im nadeem, i have had many tanks, but just normal tanks keeping normal tropical fish. i now want to start a marine tank, i know nothing, i have not purchsed anything at all, could a please get some advice on what i need to buy to start up, i have not even got a tank yet

i live in an apartment and dont have loads of place, i want to start a small tank that is also going to be a bit easier for me to manage as i am a total freshman.

Thank You
    Nad

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. xtreme

xtreme

4. Annoying

Annoying

Hey and welcome to MASA!

Marine hobby is by far more satisfying then the tropical counterpart, but unfortunetley it's also a lot more expensive. Firstly you would have to decide what you would want to keep:
    Fish only (FO)
    Fish only with live rock (FOWLR)
    Reef setup

The fish only tank would be the cheapest and the easiest to maintain as the most expensive part would be the filtration. Lighting and flow wouldn't be a great problem

FOWLR is the better option as it includes the added filtration of live rock(live rock: coral skeletons and other calcareous animals rushed to each other forming a rock like substance which is light and porous. It also serves as a great safe house for bacteria which in turn filters out impurities in the water.) The lighter the live rock the better.

Reef setup is the hardest of the tanks and the most expensive because of flow, lighting and filtration. For a SPS(small polyp stony) reef you would need extremely healthy water with intense lighting (metal halide), flow pumps and filtration( skimmer, algae scrubbers, or any other form of filtration). for the more LPS(large polyp stony) and softie reef you would need less lighting (T5 or metal halide) and less flow and not to perfect water conditions. ( the reef part is almost just touching the surface here)