JNS ALPHA 2 Reactor not tumbling

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Fenton, 28 Jan 2015.

  1. Fenton

    Fenton

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Hi Guys,

    Any of you guys have this reactor?

    My reactor is not tumbling enough(lets call it barely even moving)

    I changed the pump and still barely moving the pellets,I also took the center piece apart cleaned it and reassemble but still the same.

    I put in pellets about 3cm high.

    Any tips or tricks I could use to get these guys tumbling?

    Thanks

    REACTOR.jpg
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Ridwaan

    Ridwaan

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    66
    Did you try opening the flow of the pump?
     
  4. Fenton

    Fenton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    I checked the pump,I even changed to another pump and it does the same thing,
     
  5. Fenton

    Fenton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Opened the flow to max
     
  6. CameL

    CameL

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Primrose Hill, JHB
    Can you post a pic of inlet/outlet? maybe a closer image of the pellet area?
     
  7. Fenton

    Fenton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Here's a pic

    image.jpg
     
  8. Fenton

    Fenton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Here's one where the pellets are

    image.jpg
     
  9. Arries

    Arries

    Joined:
    11 Apr 2010
    Posts:
    521
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Durbanville,Cape Town
    Hmmm I'm no expert but are you sure that is a pellet reactor..All the pellet reactors that I have seen has a tube coming down the middle reaching almost the bottom where the water is pumped through the pellets exiting the top..I don't see that tube there..looks like water is just pumped straight out again?Might be wrong..
     
  10. Fenton

    Fenton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Yes ,it is,the name of the reactor is the heading of the thread
     
  11. Yuppie Pets

    Yuppie Pets

    Joined:
    9 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    221
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    randburg
    Hi fenton

    There is a blockage somewhere either on the inlet or the outlet.
     
  12. Fenton

    Fenton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Will take it out today and check it again,If I don't come right can I swing pass your store and you have a look
    Thanks
     
  13. CameL

    CameL

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Primrose Hill, JHB
    Have to agree, maybe that center whirlwind creator, try turning that 180degrees if those screws have holes to line-up with.
     
  14. Fenton

    Fenton Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Randburg
    Didn't have time to check it,will clean and reassemble this weekend,

    Will provide feedback shortly

    Thanks guys
     
  15. Perky Pets

    Perky Pets Sponsor

    Joined:
    24 Jun 2010
    Posts:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I usually cut a layer of filter mat and use it to stop any of the phossguard from setting or siphoning back in the impella chamber and on top so the phossguard doesn't clog the exit grooves.
     
  16. Floyd

    Floyd

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    370
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Polokwane
    I have the same Reactor in one of my chambers in the RSM.

    I have placed my phosguard in a stocking- never had any issues.:thumbup:
     
    Last edited: 31 Jan 2015
  17. King_Triton

    King_Triton

    Joined:
    27 Sep 2012
    Posts:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Midrand
    Hey bro.. is your reactor reacting now?
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - ALPHA Reactor tumbling Forum Date
[wtd] Vertex Alpha 300 Wanted 28 Oct 2013
[wtd] Vertex Alpha skimmer Wanted 28 Oct 2013
Seachem Prime or Alpha to combat Cyno General Discussions and Advice 21 Aug 2013
[wtd] Vertex Alpha 170 or reef octopus XP-2000 Wanted 16 Mar 2013
Review: Vertex Alpha Protein Skimmer Review Reviews 30 Aug 2012
Vertex Alpha 170 vs RO XP-1000SSS Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 14 Mar 2012
Alphachem iodine? Water Parameters and Additives 22 May 2008