Calcium overdose

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by Strandlooper, 23 Jun 2013.

  1. Strandlooper

    Strandlooper

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Guys please help, I've overdosed my tank on Calcium to 620 instead of 450. :eek: It was through an incorrect test I did. All other parameters fine.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Toolboysa

    Toolboysa Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel
    Did you get a snow storm in your tank when you added the calcium
     
  4. Strandlooper

    Strandlooper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Hi @Toolboysa Not sure what that is however there's no change to water or glass, what would it have done if there was one? When I added it there was white water that entered the tank however that always happens, No matter how long I mix the install calc for.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  5. Toolboysa

    Toolboysa Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Wilgeheuwel
    Means the calcium precipitated out. But you would know if this had happened. Caused by ionic imbalance. But since you didnt I would just leave it to decrease naturally.
     
    MistaOrange and carlosdeandrade like this.
  6. mandarinman

    mandarinman

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    6,377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    capetown,durbanville
    Let it decrease naturally by just keeping up your magnesium and kh dosing for two or three days and retest
     
  7. Strandlooper

    Strandlooper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Thanks guys :blush:
     
  8. Strandlooper

    Strandlooper Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Just matter of interest what if it had precipitated out?
     
  9. Visser

    Visser MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Willows,Pretoria /Brits
    Yip, shouldnt do any damage to your tanks inmates.
    Just dont add any more until its down to normal levels, & perhaps do a large waterchange.
    Just keep your alk levels normal...
     
  10. Albert Terego

    Albert Terego

    Joined:
    19 May 2008
    Posts:
    599
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Randburg, Johannesburg
    If it had precipitated out you calcium and alk readings would be very low, in which case you'd need to raise them up to normal levels slowly.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Calcium overdose Forum Date
[wtd] calcium reactor Wanted 23 Oct 2016
[wtd] Complete Aqua Medic KR 5000 Calcium Reactor Wanted 1 Oct 2016
[wtd] Calcium Reactor Complete Setup Wanted 28 Sep 2016
[wtd] Complete calcium reactor unit will all bells and whistles Wanted 22 Sep 2016
[wtd] Calcium needed Wanted 17 Sep 2016
[wtd] Calcium Reactor media - Course Wanted 30 May 2016
[wtd] calcium reactor Wanted 12 May 2016