A few ?'s about my RO unit

Discussion in 'Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS' started by gaboon, 17 Dec 2007.

  1. gaboon

    gaboon

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Just got this today without doing much research on it and the seller wasn't too sure either. The only place I can put it is under my kitchen sink. Does this mean I wont be able to bypass it when I dont need it (doing dishes etc.) The instructions are a little vague.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,980
    Likes Received:
    776
    Do you not have an outside tap that you can hook into? I have mine hooked up to a tap on the outside of the house and then just ran about 10 metres of tubing to the RO unit in the kitchen.

    Nice unit by the way :)
     
  4. palmerc

    palmerc

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    642
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Edenvale, Johannesburg
    They are emant to be bypassed if you have the correct connections. Mine is hooked up with a tap afterwards. If I want to use the tap I just open it. If I want to use the ROP I open the RO tap.
     
  5. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,980
    Likes Received:
    776
    This is how I have mine hooked up, the white tubing (feed line) then goes into the kitchen to the RO unit. When I want RO water I turn the blue handle to the on position and water is then fed to the unit.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Hey I got of my Peroni soaked but to take this pic, so Viper delete your now:lol::lol:

    Lanzo, the idea is that the water runs into you tap as per normal
    then when you flip the blue swith the R/O is on.

    this can be done in line as well[​IMG]
     
  7. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Thanks guys, I will have to install something like this to the copper piping under the sink. I'm on the 2nd floor in a complex so the sink will have to do. Would a plumber know how to do this?
     
  8. lanzo

    lanzo Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    hey kanga:whistling:

    I know:razz: :razz:

    You were talking to gaboon.:whistling:
     
  9. Kanga

    Kanga Retired Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the Koeberg blast radius
    Peroni is turning my brain to mush:lol::lol:
     
  10. lanzo

    lanzo Sponsor

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Centurion
    Haha!!! Good On You Man!!!
     
  11. DragonReef

    DragonReef

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Durban, ZA
    Gaboon, it's easy to do. A plumber can do it but will rip you a new one to do it. If the RO didn't come with that tap you can pick one up an almost any hardware.
    It will take you about 5 minutes to fit, just make sure you buy some plumbing tape as well.
    Position your unit so that it sits upright.
    When you first connect your RO unit don't attach the pipe that goes into the RO membrane. Let the water go through your pre filter and carbon filter first for at least 10 minutes to flush out all the carbon dust. Then you can connect it to the membrane. Discard the first 20 litres of RO that you make (The RO membrane needs to be flushed as well) Then you good to go.
     
  12. sunburst

    sunburst

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Durban
    FOHL :lol:. Like a R350 call out charge. Cool info Ant.
    Another suggestion. I flood the garage, laundry and maids room every month...sometimes more. If you are like me, and cannot boil an egg, take note: Your neighbors on the first floor are going to be a little twitchy when you come home from movies and discover you forgot the water on.
     
  13. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    heres mines,hooked it to my toilet,the inlet not the outlet :p
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    lol same here,forgot to place the drum in the shower yestertady,when i got home entire bathroom lounge diningroom and kitchen all flooded
     
  15. moz

    moz

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    638
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth
    Its, quite easy to do, I installed mine under the Kitchen Sink, just some advise, use thread tape and don't over tighten it, I over tightened at first and it leaked. And make sure the offtake valve is closed when you turn the water back on, made that mistake, very wet kitchen.
     
  16. gaboon

    gaboon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northriding
    Thanks guys, gonna have to get my dad to give me a hand, I'm technically impaired:(
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - unit Forum Date
[wtd] RO unit wanted Wanted 26 Nov 2016
[wtd] Broken or unused led unit Wanted 21 Nov 2016
[wtd] R.O. Unit Wanted 29 Oct 2016
[wtd] ATI 6 or 8 bulb 39w unit Wanted 17 Oct 2016
RO unit waste water used for freshwater aquarium? General Discussions and Advice 7 Oct 2016
Decent 24w 2 bulb t5 unit? Lighting 5 Oct 2016
[wtd] Complete calcium reactor unit will all bells and whistles Wanted 22 Sep 2016