RSM 250 LED conversion

Discussion in 'RSM Red Sea Max tanks' started by DarkSurferZA, 13 Feb 2017.

1. DarkSurferZA

DarkSurferZA

Ok, so I am by no means an electrician, an engineer or even an "honorable member", but I am a tinkerer and I have (not for the first time) performed some freestyle mods. That being said, I finally took the plunge and ventured into the realm of the LED folkses and built my own.

The only requirement I had was as follows:
    1) I found a second hand profilux unit on MASA, so it had to be compatible (Analogue DC dimmable driver);
    2) The tank is in my lounge, so pretty for the fish and pretty for my wife MUST align;
    3) Had to be reversible;
    4) I DO NOT drill/cut my tank. EVER!!!

There is undo button on the drilling thing, so this is generally not a good idea when flying by the seat of your pants.

Here is the final product, but I will post some pics of the build process and the FEW (1 or 2 or 3 or 4 or 5 or....) snags I ran into on the way.

IMG_20170211_191537.jpg

If your feeling nervous and this is preventing you from taking the plunge, I hope it gives you some comfort knowing that if I can do it, then it may as well be one of those Suezelle DIY video, cause anybody can.

Cobusjvr and erratiC like this.
  2. Guest

3. OP
    DarkSurferZA

DarkSurferZA

The basis for the LED build (other than the profilux as the controller) is the solderless kit from RapidLED. http://www.rapidled.com/solderless-90g-tank-dimmable-kit/
    Now it does say solderless, and it is plug and play, but the long and the short of it is that you will need a soldering iron, and you will need a multimeter. This is neither optional or all that complex. If you get stuck, post a question and I will give you the best advise I can (and some else will rapidly correct me. It is one of the immutable rules of the internet).