Connecting sump to tl550

Discussion in 'Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice' started by KyleJ, 13 Sep 2014.

  1. KyleJ

    KyleJ

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hey so i need some advice.

    I have a tl550 and wanted to add an external sump which i cant put a bigger skimmer in and possible dsb. So i currently have the sump and skimmer Ts2 but now im having some issues connecting the sump to the tank.

    I initially planned on putting two pumps one in the tank and one in the sump but ive spoken to guys at the LFS and they all advised against it saying i should rather drill the tank. But currently i'd rather not drill my boyu. I was wondering if anyone has any ideas on how i could do this without drilling the tank?

    Thanks
    Kyle
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Dian6430

    Dian6430

    Joined:
    22 May 2013
    Posts:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Tsitsikamma EC
    If you can put your sump above your tank you can run water up with a pump and gravity feed it back to the tank. Really dont know about any other way of doing this
     
  4. Mewik

    Mewik

    Joined:
    29 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Melkbos, Cape Town
    You get hang on the back overflow boxes that will allow you to connect to the sump below.
     
  5. red deacon

    red deacon

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    348
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Gauteng
    May be a silly question but why would you want an external sump in the first place? I have a TL550 and the internal setup works perfectly.
     
    shaunn likes this.
  6. Dian6430

    Dian6430

    Joined:
    22 May 2013
    Posts:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Tsitsikamma EC
    With a sump you can use a lot bigger and better skimmer, run more form of filtration, have a bigger water volume that helps with temp and parameters. All this helps for a more stable system and you can keep a bit more stock
     
  7. Mewik

    Mewik

    Joined:
    29 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Melkbos, Cape Town
    And you can remove the built in filter making the display area much larger
     
  8. KyleJ

    KyleJ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I saw someone else did this on MASA but the sump i have is 80l so pretty heavy to put it higher then the tank will be a bit of a mission

    Awesome this is exactly what i was looking for

    Yup pretty much as @Dian6430 said.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  9. red deacon

    red deacon

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    348
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Gauteng
    Thanks guys I get the rationale behind the more space and better filtration. Forgive my next comment when I say would this not be like putting a porsche motor in a beetle? Surely the time and effort would be better spent investing in a larger setup?
     
  10. Dian6430

    Dian6430

    Joined:
    22 May 2013
    Posts:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Tsitsikamma EC
    Lol yes as somewhere you will want to upgrade anyway. What a few people do is plumb the boyu into there bigger system and use it as a refugium and pod factory or put some pipefish in it etc. They do this as you buy the tank for over 5k and i see them going around 1.8k if you try and sell it
     
  11. Brendan6

    Brendan6

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I added an upflow sump to my boyu and it worked awesomely.
     
  12. 6x9base13

    6x9base13

    Joined:
    15 Jan 2013
    Posts:
    165
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    East Rand

    You say that like it's a bad thing :)

    I actually have just that on the drawing board and hope start the project next year - a karmann ghia rather than beetle, but close enough !

    At the OP - let us know if you find a suitable HOB over flow that works with the 550. I'm in the same place at the moment. Want to get mine filled with salt water, but pondering adding a sump.
     
  13. KyleJ

    KyleJ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2014
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    @red deacon. I'm planning on investing in a larger system. doing it in stages. so now I have my sump and skimmer. Tank will come in the new year ;) finances permitting.

    And i kinda got the idea from your boyu thread @Brendan6 which i must say was very impressive.

    @6x9base13. Saw a diy overflow made from acrylic I might try. So if it works i'll post some pics in the next month.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  14. Brendan6

    Brendan6

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2013
    Posts:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Thanks dude. Hope you come right.
     
  15. red deacon

    red deacon

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2014
    Posts:
    348
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Gauteng
    My take on these projects is simple - 99% of the time it would be cheaper going for the bigger option in the first place. Then again if it works for you who am I to criticise :biggrin:
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Connecting sump tl550 Forum Date
Connecting radion to pc problems General Discussions and Advice 31 Oct 2014
connecting hydrofill to kalkstirrer? Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 4 Jun 2014
Connecting ATU outlet to Stirrer inlet Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 30 Aug 2013
Connecting Bubble Blaster to DNW250 skimmer Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 21 Dec 2011
Need Advise on Connecting T5 Dual Ballast... General Discussions and Advice 2 Oct 2011
connecting refuge General Discussions and Advice 22 Apr 2011
connecting MH's, using an earth Lighting 5 Nov 2009