Newbie - stuff is dying

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to marine aquariums. I have a system of around 400l, tank is about 240l and sump around 160l. I have mixed ro water with Red Sea salt. My SG is about 1.025. The tank is been cycling for three weeks. There are three hermit crabs in that has been in there since about day three, which is doing great. I have collected snails and some urchins from the sea to try and introduce them to the tank to see if they make it before i spend a lot of money on buying things that die. The snails and urchins have both died. I acclimatized them for about an hour using a drip system next to the main tank. I have tried again and again everything i added died. I have taken the water to three different pet shops to test and interestingly all three shops gives me different readings. The one I trust the most gives me a pH reading of 7.79, the other a reading of 8.1 and the other a reading of 8.5. They tested for ammonia as well and say it is 2. I know i must probably wait a bit longer, but then i speak to people that only cycled a week and they have already got fish with some soft corals in which is doing fine. Should i perhaps add some natural sea water to the mix, or drain everything and only add sea water? Please give me some advice

You shouldn't add anything until ammonia and nitrites are 0, adding stability or some bacteria will help

Ammonia is a problem, if you still have ammonia the likelihood of Nitrite is pretty high, this is a normal occurrence in a tank which is still building enough bacteria to deal with ammonia and nitrite. You could add special blend to speed up the process but there is nothing better than time and patience.
Only very experienced reefers can start and stock a tank quickly.