Nano to Medium Tank Project/Build

Reaction score
I started with a nano marine tank about 3 months ago and have learned a lot. Went to LPS on Sat and they were selling three old 4ft tanks.. I bought all three. They leak and silicone is old and each has a filter on the sides.

The plan: Strip two of the tanks, re-silicone.. make one a DT the other a sump. So this is my project for the next few months.. to a year :thumbup: I need to know if this is a good or bad idea? before I hit this full on? :eek:

Any advice or threads you can direct me too wld be awesome..

picture.php

picture.php

Stripping the silicone is a mission so if it were me then id rather start with new glass. If you have the time to do it then go for it.

Great thanks. Ja i only plan on building the tank up next year, so ill take my time. I'm still learning with my Nano and need to buy all the hardware for the "new" tank. What would it cost for glass to build two 4FT tanks?

So here the plans with the 3 tanks I got:

All of them needed to be stripped down, siliconed and redesigned.. of course :) Turns out the sides are only 5mm and not 6mm thick glass like the front and back, so two tanks are being used to make the sump and beef up the two sides and whats left used for DSB dividers

The 10mm base left over from the one tank will be used with new 6mm glass for the DT so it will be bright and shiny new :)

DT Specs:

1200 (l) x 450 (w) x 560 (h) = +- 300 litres

DSB Specs:

1200 (l) x 450 (w) x 400 (h) = +- 216 litres
Skimmer and overflow on left -> DSB -> Return

Not sure what the usable volume will be..mmmm.. Anyway here's a pic of the stripped tanks

picture.php

Last edited:
Great thanks. Ja i only plan on building the tank up next year, so ill take my time. I'm still learning with my Nano and need to buy all the hardware for the "new" tank. What would it cost for glass to build two 4FT tanks?
Get a quote from Rene Turck and Idol Marine...
http://reneturck.co.za/

Update: