would this work?

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by martinkeyser, 5 Aug 2009.

  1. martinkeyser

    martinkeyser

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    secunda
    hello all.
    i eventually have everything for my new tank.
    will be moving into our new place in about 3 weeks or so and decided no to start the tank untill then.
    couldn`t wait though. decided to set up a remote system with about 220lt of water to get the water cycled in the mean time. it consists of a 150lt tank that runs into a compartment that houses the skimmer and then over my sand bed of about 50cm by 45cm and then gets pumped back again.
    Will this help to get the water cycled in the mean time or am i waisting my time?
    oh ja, got a live rock from a friend today and also placed it on the sand bed:thumbup:
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. martinkeyser

    martinkeyser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    secunda
    will try and post a pic or two
     
  4. dogstar

    dogstar

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    i think if you move that sand bed later the anaerobic bacteria in there will die
     
  5. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Martin - this will indeed work. You might have a tiny mini-cycle when you are moving this tank, as well as add extra water and new sand into your main display tank, though. Get some extra bacteria for the move, though.
     
  6. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    Martin,

    you raise a point that is a common misconception.... the water itself does not need to cycle........ the cycle is effectively the build up of bacteria in the system....this bacteria resides in the DSB (for the most part) the amount of bacteria in the water is negligable ........

    to answer the Q, if you are seeding the remote DSB and hook that up to your new system it will most certainly help.... just make sure the DSB is 15 - 17 cm deep min !!
     
  7. Neil H

    Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    11 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    JHB
    just a little correction here, unless i am wrong, anaerobic refers to oxygen poor environments.... in the moove, your aerobic (bacteria requiring high oxygen levels) would die off long before the other bacteria. the aerobic bacteria live in the upper half (ish) of the DSb, the anaerobic bacteria lives in the lower part ..... thats why we need at leaast 15 cm
     
  8. martinkeyser

    martinkeyser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    secunda
    interesting thanx,
    what additional bacteria can i get?
     
  9. martinkeyser

    martinkeyser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    secunda
    the setup[​IMG][​IMG]
     
  10. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    My neck is now out of joint;)
     
  11. martinkeyser

    martinkeyser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    secunda
    :baffled:sory man couldn`t get it turned. don`t know how!
     
  12. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Martin we did more or less the same thing on my brothers tank and yes as jacques said you will have a mini cycle after the move but it does shorten cycling time.

    Im doing the same thing on my new tank build
     
  13. martinkeyser

    martinkeyser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    secunda
    great thanx Frans.
    glad i`m not waisting my time.
    did you add live rock as well?
     
  14. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Yip....also seeded it with a bit of sand from my DSB
     
  15. martinkeyser

    martinkeyser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    secunda
    Thanx, will get some live rock asap. got enough playsand and araganite en my dsb. also added the one piece of live rock.
    amazing to see all the little goggas running around already.
    how long did yours run before you moved it over?
     
  16. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Use Prodibio which contain all aerobic and anaerobic bacteria
     
  17. martinkeyser

    martinkeyser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    secunda
    thanx tony will get some for the move.
    can i add some now already
     
  18. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Add away and add more when you have finished moving your tank. It helps with the mini cycle from disrupting your tank
     
  19. martinkeyser

    martinkeyser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    secunda
    thanx, another question.
    i got a bottle of stuff called cycle.
    added some of that. does anyone know if it`s a good thing?
     
  20. dogstar

    dogstar

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    My point exactly about the anaerobic bacteria. If he physically has to move the sand out of that remote system into his proper sump/setup, that anaerobic bacteria that lives in the lower part of the dsb will die in the move.
     
  21. martinkeyser

    martinkeyser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    secunda
    so what you guys are saying is that all the bacteria might die off? :(
     
Recent Posts