Wiring a T5 Electronic Ballast

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Pugsly, 1 Dec 2009.

  1. Pugsly

    Pugsly

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Hi all,

    I got myself a 80w T5 electronic ballast and a giesemann actinic 03 tube - now how the hell do I hook it up.

    I know that on the left side is the 3 inputs where the mains must come in - but what is the order of the "earth" "live" and "Neutral" wires. and on the right is the output side to the tube. On this side does it matter what way around the wires go - I know that the same to wires must go to one end of the tube, and the other 2 to the other end of the tube.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    pugsly what make is it , there should be a wiring diagram. The aerth has a little sign that looks like a "umbrella" and live looks like a wave if i remember correctly.

    The other side is easy
     
  4. Pugsly

    Pugsly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Thanks Frans, that makes sense - was also told that one should use "solid" core wire and not the "normal" wire that has millions of wires wired to make the core, is this so?
     
  5. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,157
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Centurion
    Yes, and ensure that you got the correct thickness solid wire, else you will strugle to push it in.

    Some units are easy, some like Osram got a narrow V type of slot where the wire must be pushed in.

    Is it a single or dual?

    Some Duals got on the outlet side 7 outlets. 2 earths must be in same slot. Wrong thickness wire and you can not get it in there without swearing.
     
  6. Pugsly

    Pugsly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    It's a single ballast 80w. Any one have an idea on what the thickness must be? Or should I rather just go for as thin an inner core as possible
     
  7. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Ive always used 1,5 mm on single ballast
     
  8. Pugsly

    Pugsly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Frans - is that 1.5mm the inner core diameter?
     
  9. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Yip
     
  10. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    yep normally a 1,5mm twin plus earth cable(surfix) has these kinda cores you can also use 1.0mm solid core. what make is the ballast? surely there is a diagram?

    the wave usually indicates both live and neutral(which can be interchanged as its alternatng current) but be very sure you connect the earth to the correct point!
     
  11. irshaad

    irshaad

    Joined:
    15 Jul 2008
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I have a dumb question, how do you get the wiring into a t5 waterproof endcap? Does the ballast perhaps come with a male wiring attachment? I havnt purchased ballasts yet, so not sure what that comes with...
     
  12. Pugsly

    Pugsly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pretoria
    you purchase them seperatly. The ballast and the end caps are seperate that is.
    With the end caps - the wire just pushes in the same as with the ballast. once it is in its very hard to get out.

    Just so you all know - I wired my 80w last night and no problems at all.

    the giesseman actinic + is powerful! makesa huge difference to my system:)
     
  13. Pads

    Pads

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    689
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Joburg, Bryanston
    I've got much the same question. The V shaped slot at the top and the hole just below the V slot. Will they simply hold the wire or do you have to secure the wires in position with something? I'm worried they slip out...
     
  14. Loki

    Loki cable tie ninja

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    642
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Lenasia

    How about a before and after pic pugsly...
    Geisseman's seem to be scarce!! or is it just my rotten luck!!
     
  15. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    Get thicker single core wire and it sholud be quite secure in the slot under the v shape
     
  16. Falcon

    Falcon

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    2,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    VEREENIGING
    try the reefteks...i replaced my geisseman pure actinic with reefteks version and i'm quite happy with the results...
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Wiring Electronic Ballast Forum Date
Electronic Ballast wiring Lighting 29 Apr 2009
Aquarium Room Wiring & Electronics General Discussions and Advice 19 Jul 2013
Auto RO top up wiring diagram Anything DIY Related 16 Oct 2015
anyone use Silicone tape to seal wiring Anything DIY Related 10 Jan 2014
advise on wiring equipment General Discussions and Advice 7 Jan 2014
Jebao WP25 Pump Wiring Pumps and Waterflow 21 Nov 2013
Wiring devices Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 5 Dec 2012