Wire length between balast and T5 ?

Discussion in 'Anything DIY Related' started by neo, 25 Mar 2010.

  1. neo

    neo

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    I want to mount t5 39w ballasts at back of my stand, same level as sump, with the wires then running up into the canopy to each T5.

    Is there a maximum length for the wires between the balast and t5 tube ?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,988
    Likes Received:
    781
    According to my Osram ballasts, the wires going to the close ends of the tubes should be max 1 meter and to the other ends of the tubes a max of 2 metres.
     
  4. neo

    neo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2009
    Posts:
    582
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Centurion
    Thx,
    :cursing:...crap, now I must rethink my idea cause the 1m wont do.
     
  5. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    Yip. 1mtr max on my VS ballasts as well. Apparently they go pop if its more than 1 meter to the close side.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Wire length between Forum Date
T5 Ballast wire length Lighting 7 May 2007
Urgent help needed urgent help copper wire Urgent Help Needed 3 Feb 2016
ATU DIY Wireing Anything DIY Related 30 Sep 2015
Help needed with a wire leaking electricity General Discussions and Advice 6 Sep 2015
[wtd] Looking for a Wireless wave maker for my Juwel Rio 125ltr Wanted 22 Jun 2015
why is wire vibrating? General Discussions and Advice 25 Feb 2015
[wtd] Vortech MP40 Dry Side with wireless controller Wanted 1 Feb 2015