Will this work?

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Mitch StayC, 12 May 2013.

1. Mitch StayC

Mitch StayC

Hey guys, I have a few questions as I am new to the whole sw thing. I have been doing tons of research, reading posts, beginner guides etc and I want to start a sw tank (FOWLR). Thing is I have this acrylic tank that I bought last year previously used as fw. We redid the stand and that's sorta why I need to try make it work. I will post a pic of the tank soon for now I will just tell you.

Tank size* (all in mm)

1200L x 420W x 520H
    260 liters

There isn't much space for a sump
    300Lx 310Wx 450+H

All I can think for the sump is to increase height, max could be 60cm. What do you guys think?

As for lighting it already has 3 t8 lighting ( will get pic) but I don't really want to use this.

So question time.... My ultimate question is, Is it possible to make this tank work?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. ScottK

ScottK

You can definitely make it work. I would change the lighting to decent T5's or LED. The sump is a little small but should be fine depending on what filtration you choose. If you go with a decent sized skimmer rated for 600L or more and Orca bio cubes you will have more than enough space. Increasing the height of the sump could work but you will need to raise the skimmer a lot as that will be way too deep for it to work effectively.

4. Mitch StayC

Mitch StayC Thread Starter

Thanks for the quick reply Scott, as promised here is the pictures [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

[​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

5. Fraser W

Fraser W Swazi Reefer

Hi Mitch Welcome to masa

As for the size of your display tank it will make a very nice display will have lots of space for aquascaping the lr. Had a fw tank that was about the same dimentions..