Will algae in sump help with aglae in the display tank?

Discussion in 'Nuisance Algae' started by scottyD, 27 Nov 2013.

1. scottyD

scottyD

Hi guys

Is it true that having various types of algae in the sump will help with algae in the main display tank?

I'm fairly new to the marine game, but a few year ago a friend (who had a big system at that stage) had a very big sump with one compartment with mainly "red" algae and another with "green" algae in it.

I have a fairly new setup, now only running for about 2-3 months with quite a lot of red algae growing in and on the rocks in the high flow areas and some on the sand bed as well.

I know it also might be something like cyanobacteria seeing that it is a new system. It is however mainly where there is good flow and lighting.

Last edited: 27 Nov 2013
  2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Visser

Visser MASA Contributor

The straight answer... YES.
    But its not so much the "algae in the sump", but rather the "algae in better conditions" that causes the algae in the tank to die off.

The reason for this is, when you grow algae in a place where it has (more) perfect conditions, it will grow faster (thus absorbing more nutrients / algae food) than the algae in the tank... & eventually, the algae in the tank will die off due to starvation, & the algae in the "better conditions" will reach equilibrium with the Nutrient input vs nutrient absorption by algae.

Probably the best example of this is an algae scrubber. I suggest you do a google search about it & look at a couple pictures to see what they look like & how they work.

If you have a properly working algae scrubber, you will definitely reap the benefits by not having any algae in your tank, & having great water quality due to lower nutrients etc...