Who here has changed their substrate? Is it a PITA?

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Matt, 3 Mar 2008.

  1. Matt

    Matt MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    I have crushed coral substrate at the moment, would love to change it for finer substrate/ is it a huge PITA (pain in the ass) to do this??
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Rory

    Rory Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,850
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    JHB
    Just siphon it out whenever you do a water change... When there's none left pour in the new substrate carefully... (like pour it down a tube/pipe of some sort so it doesn't land all over everything)
     
  4. Matt

    Matt Thread Starter MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    Aaah good idea Rory! thanks! ;)
     
  5. Marinemagic

    Marinemagic Member

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    hI matt165, it is also advisable to change it in stages, I did my over three weeks and during water changes.
     
  6. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Its definately worth the PITA and you will be exretmely happy with the results afterwards.
     
  7. Ferdie Vorster

    Ferdie Vorster

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    If you do it in stages, do you take out bits by bits until all the crushed coral are gone and then add the finer substrate or do you add the finer substrate each time after you've taken out the bits, and how do you get the crushed coral not to mix with the finer substrate
     
  8. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Ferdie - Everything is about doing things SLOWLY. To give the biological filter time to adjust to everything. This is all fine (you can just remove the bigger crushed coral little bit at a time, until there's nothing, and then add the finer, sugar-grain sized substrate all at once).... The point here is to constantly measure the water parameters as well - therefore the "water change" idea..... that there's no sudden spike in the ammonia or nitrites or even nitrates, that could cause problems with the life stock in the tank.
     
  9. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    well,i guess in my case,i just gotta pick up one big block of concrete aragonite :lol:
     
  10. joe

    joe

    Joined:
    14 May 2007
    Posts:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Or you could:p shovel it out with a plastic cup like i did , releasing waste and toxins in the water killing 3 fish and a coral ! :p
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - here changed substrate Forum Date
Here it is all the way from the north pole, HA HA not really!!! Aquaria Friday at 16:18
Where is good spot for collecting mostly inverts in Jbay, PE area? Diving, Collecting and Environmental Discussions 20 Nov 2016
The shallow reef tank build is here... Members Systems and Setups 16 Oct 2016
Hair algae everywhere General Discussions and Advice 2 Oct 2016
Where to find inferno bta in CT? Anemone's 19 Sep 2016
Where to have tank built General Discussions and Advice 5 Sep 2016
Where can I get this bulb? Lighting 15 Aug 2016