Who here has changed their substrate? Is it a PITA?

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Matt, 3 Mar 2008.

  1. Matt

    Matt

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    I have crushed coral substrate at the moment, would love to change it for finer substrate/ is it a huge PITA (pain in the ass) to do this??
     
  2. Guest




  3. Rory

    Rory Admin

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,852
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    JHB
    Just siphon it out whenever you do a water change... When there's none left pour in the new substrate carefully... (like pour it down a tube/pipe of some sort so it doesn't land all over everything)
     
  4. OP
    Matt

    Matt

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    JHB
    Aaah good idea Rory! thanks! ;)
     
  5. Marinemagic

    Marinemagic Member

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    hI matt165, it is also advisable to change it in stages, I did my over three weeks and during water changes.
     
  6. brentnorm

    brentnorm

    Joined:
    6 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    2,200
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Its definately worth the PITA and you will be exretmely happy with the results afterwards.
     
  7. Ferdie Vorster

    Ferdie Vorster

    Joined:
    26 Feb 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centurion
    If you do it in stages, do you take out bits by bits until all the crushed coral are gone and then add the finer substrate or do you add the finer substrate each time after you've taken out the bits, and how do you get the crushed coral not to mix with the finer substrate
     
  8. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi Ferdie - Everything is about doing things SLOWLY. To give the biological filter time to adjust to everything. This is all fine (you can just remove the bigger crushed coral little bit at a time, until there's nothing, and then add the finer, sugar-grain sized substrate all at once).... The point here is to constantly measure the water parameters as well - therefore the "water change" idea..... that there's no sudden spike in the ammonia or nitrites or even nitrates, that could cause problems with the life stock in the tank.
     
  9. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,226
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    well,i guess in my case,i just gotta pick up one big block of concrete aragonite :lol:
     
  10. joe

    joe

    Joined:
    14 May 2007
    Posts:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Or you could:p shovel it out with a plastic cup like i did , releasing waste and toxins in the water killing 3 fish and a coral ! :p
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - here changed substrate Forum Date
TMC Stock here Marine Aquatics 28 Jun 2017
New Reefer here New Members 29 May 2017
Our High end Shipment is here!!! Majestic Pets Solutions 1 Apr 2017
Is there such marine fish??? General Discussions and Advice 17 Mar 2017
One day there will be fish... Beginner Discussions 15 Mar 2017
GHA - where does it come from? General Discussions and Advice 2 Mar 2017
Zetlight Shieldo ZS7200 130W is here! Jungle Aquatics 19 Feb 2017