White stars

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by wynandkui, 22 Jun 2009.

1. wynandkui

wynandkui

Hi, I am new to marine keeping but now after 4 months of letting my 3ft tank mature I have noticed tiny little specs on my glass resembling small spider like creatures. I tried photographing it but can not focus my camera so close. These specs sort of look like cotton fluff with a tine ball like center.

Anyone got an idea what these might be?

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Prodigy

Prodigy

Do they move?
    Can u not take a side view pic?
    Welcome to MASA

Last edited: 23 Jun 2009
  4. Reef Maniac

Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

Hi Wynandkui, and WELCOME to MASA.
    It's really not possible to identify the creatures from this description, but there are really miniature sea stars and brittle stars, and I have quite a few of them in my tank - they never grow larger than about 2mm in diameter, from arm tip to arm tip.

I have found that one can take a photo through a magnifying glass - focus the magnifying glass on the little critter, and then hold the camera at such a distance that it focuses on the magnified image - some times you can be lucky and take quite a nice photo this way...

Anyway, the little critters are probably not harmful (unless they are baby aiptasia anemones...), but we really need a photo to make any meaningful guess...

Hennie

5. Jaak

Jaak

Welcome to MASA!!||

6. riyadhessa

riyadhessa

Welcome Wynandkui

7. Tony

Tony

Welcome to MASA

8. frankie fish

frankie fish

Ja my broer, hoe ga dit? eks bly ek kry jou hier, hierdie site is nogal nice. hir's n paar pics van my tenk. stuur groet by die huis[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

9. inflames

inflames

Welome to MASA! Try get us some photo's!

10. Sentari

Sentari

Welcome!!!

Like the eel. What eel is that?

11. chikaboo

chikaboo