White Spot

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by koeks, 25 Jul 2008.

1. koeks

koeks

Hey guys im new to this formum and marine fish keeping have had some past experiance diving for fish ect ect, i have recently set my tank up (3 weeks) and i have two little bullys and a small parot fish (i think) i have them in there just to mature the tank but he has white spot what i want to know is if a remove him and leave the tank to keep maturing for another 4 weeks or so do i still run the risk of getting white spot is is something in the water or must i medicate. This really is an awsome form i have not posted befor but i have done alot of reading. Any help will be appreciated guys.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Ross

Ross

3 weeks and fish is to soon. You really can cycle without fish.
    I would find a new home for the fish and let the white spot die out. It will need a host and if it can not find any it will die in your tank.

4. lanzo

lanzo Sponsor

WELCOME TO MASA

Your tanks needs to cycle for at least a month without fish
    Easy way to get rid of WS is increasing temp to 30C and lower the S.g to 1.019( this can be done if you don't have any inverts in system)
    And then add some CAL-C-VITA to boost imune system of the fish

Good luck

5. ben lloyd

ben lloyd

Hi koeks : that disease is extremely contaqios it develop when there is a drop in your water temperature. you can tread it by rasing your water temp or with formol

6. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator

A very warm WELCOME to MASA Koeks! Just try and make sure that the fish eat healthily. You can also of course try medication, ie: Myxazin. Otherwise, try and dunk the food in fresh garlic (freshly crushed), and then feed the fish - this could possibly also work...

7. Mike

Mike Retired Moderator