Urgent help needed White spot on clownfish

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Please help me, my clownfish have white spots on them the is a lot worse than the other.
I am very new to the reef tank scene and wold prefer not to use the coper treatment as I do not have a quarintine tank yet and I also have corals, a hermit, a snail and a shrimp in the tank.

The white spot wasn't there around 12:30pm today but it looks pretty bad now.

Please any help would be great.

Last edited:
Hello TanyaB

here is a writeup on whitespot I done a while back
Whitespot: Know your enemy - Marine Aquariums South Africa

and the treatment process I do when I got whitespot
Bucket Method Quarantine - Marine Aquariums South Africa

I have 2 quarantine tanks nowadays. Fish goes into the first tank for 6 weeks. If any sign of whitespot, then I do the bucket method and thereafter they go into the second system for 6 weeks. If however after 6 weeks in the first system without any sickness, they go to my display tank.

How bad does it look this morning?

Hello TanyaB

here is a writeup on whitespot I done a while back
Whitespot: Know your enemy - Marine Aquariums South Africa

and the treatment process I do when I got whitespot
Bucket Method Quarantine - Marine Aquariums South Africa

I have 2 quarantine tanks nowadays. Fish goes into the first tank for 6 weeks. If any sign of whitespot, then I do the bucket method and thereafter they go into the second system for 6 weeks. If however after 6 weeks in the first system without any sickness, they go to my display tank.

How bad does it look this morning?

Good morning,

The fish looks a lot better this morning, only about 3 or 4 spots.
They are eating well and we will be getting a QT tank this afternoon.

Thanks for all your help the links helped me a lot.

Regards

Hi @TanyaB any chance of a picture of the spot/s ... much easier to give help and advise based on a good pic

Good morning,

Sorry all the pics come out blurred....:(