Where to buy a Tank in JHB

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Sentari, 15 May 2009.

1. Sentari

Sentari

Hi all

I am looking at purchasing a new tank in Johannesburg. i would just like to find out where the best stockists are and +- how much am i looking at paying for one? I am fairly new to this. My dad and i had a Marine tank years ago and didnt really have the correct setup. eg. we didnt use a sump and all the fancy things. We purely used a biological filter with it.

Also i would like a decent size tank. Any recommendations are welcome.

At a later stage when i have a little more cash i would also like to get the following

Sump
    Skimmer
    Live Rock
    Sand - Ive been told that reggies play sand is the best
    Pumps
    etc.

Any advise would be appreciated. Especially on how to kit up a sump and what to use for a DSB.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. Ghaydeen

Ghaydeen

You can try Sterlig in the West Rand, the pet store in Hillfox or Kenilworth Aqaurium Center in the South.

All these stores have a variaty of tanks.

4. Neil H

Neil H Moderator MASA Contributor

any one of our great sponsors will be able to hook you up with a tank to your specifictions ..... they will also be able to give you proper marine setup advice !!

5. Sentari

Sentari Thread Starter

Thanks i am aware of those shops and i have been there.

6. Sentari

Sentari Thread Starter

Awesome thanks! thats what i'm looking for!

7. Warr7207

Warr7207

The best tank builders at present are Idol marine

Check them out

[​IMG]

8. Sentari

Sentari Thread Starter

Thanks bud!

Will check them out. Do you know if they open on the weekend?

9. gali

gali

I also highly recommend Idol Marine. They are open on a Saturday I think till 4

10. gali

gali