What tank dimensions do I need to go for?

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by sandersc, 24 Jan 2015.

  1. sandersc

    sandersc

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    Guys

    I just bought a tank, 1,9m X 1m X 900mm high. I had to take the glass apart to move it and get it into my house.

    Before re-assembling the tank, I am thinking perhaps to make a shallow reef tank, instead of the 900mm high tank? What do you think? Will it work, what height should I go or will it be a waste of the glass. It is all 12mm glass and front panel is starfire?

    Looking forward to your inputs.
     
    Last edited: 24 Jan 2015
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. 4age

    4age

    Joined:
    23 Feb 2010
    Posts:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Always a risk cutting glass . especially that length.i would definitely take it to a company that doesn't use the normal glass cutting tools
     
  4. sandersc

    sandersc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    Thanks 4age, any suggestions as to who I an contact for this?
     
  5. sandersc

    sandersc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    Oh yes, I've actually measured the glass for the first time and saw that it is 700 high and not 900. I was thinking in going 450mm high?
     
  6. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,164
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    700 is nice.
    Cutting 10mm glass panel that is almost 2m in length is not easy. changes are that you end up with a messed up panel.

    nothing wrong with 700mm. My opinion, it would give you a lot more options when deciding on corals and fish.
     
  7. sandersc

    sandersc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    Riaan I know that, but there is quite a difference between 855l and 1330 in DT. Almost all my current equipment will be inadequote. Skimmer size on the 700 high, would that be more than twice the size of on on say the 450 high one. Lights I do know will be much more on the deep one.
     
  8. sandersc

    sandersc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    The other thing I need to take in consideration is the fact that I live in an old Victorian house with wooden floors, so weight I think will always be an issue or am I incorrect in assuming such?

    I do however bolt my stand to the wall for stability.
     
  9. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    high, firstly i would check the strength of the floor, you will need to probably add support whether its bolted to wall or not.

    If you design a sump well you can get away with a smaller skimmer and have a large algae refugium, that will def help. what is your current skimmer rated for?
     
  10. sandersc

    sandersc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    Dallasq I have a reef octo running, I think it is rated for 1500l. It runs with 2 otp 2000's. I also have a few smaller skimmer like the ts2's lying around.
     
  11. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    thats fine, probably a TS4 i think with 2 pumps, skimmer size is a debated topic, as long as its the same or greater literate of the tank its ok.

    what filtration are you planning to use?
     
  12. sandersc

    sandersc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    I am currently running a dsb in the sump as well as some chaeto, both of which I will keep. Oh yes I am also running carbon.
     
    Last edited: 26 Jan 2015
  13. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    what size dsb? since this is a larger tank

    what is the sump size?
     
  14. sandersc

    sandersc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    My current sump is 1,5m but I will make it bigger. I will also put in an extra dsb.
     
  15. sandersc

    sandersc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    Another thing that is making me think in the direction of a shallow reef is the fact that I can go rimless on that dimensions in 12mm glass or am I wrong?
     
  16. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    yes you can, but you cut the tank down you need to strip it, send glass to be cut, then rebuild
     
  17. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    if the dsb is atleast 1m then you dont need to redo sump
     
  18. sandersc

    sandersc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    No currently the dsb is about 500 x 400 mm, very well esthablished.
     
  19. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    what in the rest of the sump?
     
  20. sandersc

    sandersc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    961
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Paarl Western Cape ZA
    Oh yes another thing I forget to mension, is that the tank is already stripped down, because I was under the impression that it was 1m wide by 900mm high, so it would not have fitted through the door. ( I just saw it is actually mentioned at beginning of thread)
     
    Last edited: 26 Jan 2015
  21. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,771
    Likes Received:
    582
    Location:
    Sandton
    you would have to find a place that will cut for you, there is a risk and most wont replace if broken as there are many factors.
    but worth a try
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - tank dimensions need Forum Date
Fish tank dimensions General Discussions and Advice 16 May 2013
Ideal tank dimensions? General Discussions and Advice 3 Jan 2013
Tank Dimensions New Members 26 May 2011
Macro algae in display tank - Yes or No? General Discussions and Advice Wednesday at 12:40
My 300lt Tank Medium Tanks 2 Dec 2016
Any tanks for sale in Port Elizabeth Area. Wanted 24 Nov 2016
Recommended HW for 100L tank? General Discussions and Advice 20 Nov 2016