What should i put in my sump and do i have the right equipment?

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Lemar, 20 Aug 2008.

1. Lemar

Lemar

Ok so, i have my tank, i have my sump. i have water in my tank (freshwater, but just testing the waters, as my previous attemp resulted in 500litres of water on our wooden floors within a 2 minutes)

Now i am busy locating and buying all the equipment.
    First question: I am looking at the following equipment (does it seem ok?)

Tank specs: 1600mm(L)X700mm(H)X450mm(W) 470l and a 100l sump
    My idea is to keep fish and sps

Real Ocean Sea Salt 4X6.3kg (757l)
    Resun Wave Maker-15000
    Real inc 1800mm, 3X150W MH,2X54W T5's
    2XOcean Runner 3500 pumps
    Deltec R/O Unit
    Reef Octupus/reeftek refractometer
    Protein Skimmer (Reef octopus DNW150 Recirculating)
    Live rock - how much?
    crushed coral/sand - how much?

What else do I need?

i am very new to this, have been reading posts/threads every night for the last 3 weeks, but i still feel as if I don't know anything.

Question 2 - What types of filter medium must I put in my sump? I bought bio-balls the other day at the lps and now I've read that it a nono. after spending 300 bucks on it? Please help!!

Thanks

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. moz

moz

The Basics.

First compartment - Skimmer
    Second Compartment - DSB (min 75mm Sand)
    Third Compartment - Return

4. Lemar

Lemar Thread Starter

I'm sorry... DSB? I am VERY NEW to this hobby

5. moz

moz

viper357 and Rory like this.
  6. leslie hempel

leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

nice size tank there.. wider would give you more options though... nice equipment list ..

7. Lemar

Lemar Thread Starter

Thanx for the info moz

8. Lemar

Lemar Thread Starter

initially we built the tank based on a stand we had (stupid choice) instead we chucked the stand and build a new one. see my gallery