wave makers

Discussion in 'Beginner Discussions' started by Nemo84, 25 Apr 2013.

  1. Nemo84

    Nemo84

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
    Hey masa
    Is hving wavemakers Necessary in a reef tank?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. LCornelius

    LCornelius Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Yes, or flow pumps as some call them.
    They range from cheap to very expensive.

    How big is your tank?
     
  4. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    You need flow, but not nessesarily a wave. Anything from a sunsun, sieo, tunze, vortec, or sicci will do
     
  5. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    wave maker = no
    flow pump = yes

    I believe when you say wave maker you meant controllable pumps like Vortech, Tunze and others. Where the pump is connected to a controller. These pumps are ultra nice, but it is not really needed.

    Flow pumps, cheaper like Seio and SunSun. To add flow to your system. You need flow. And pointing these pumps towards each other do create chaotic water movement where their output meets up.

    Its like BMW and a Tata. Both you can use to drive to work. The BMW is just so much nicer.
     
  6. Visser

    Visser MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Willows,Pretoria /Brits
    Definitely need flowpumps...
    Wavemakers is a luxury addition...
    I use the eco vortech mp10 wavemakers & i dont believe its really neccesary.
    My next flow pump will be the new seio controllable wavemaker as it is priced very well & has a infrared remote...
     
  7. Nemo84

    Nemo84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
    @LCornelius my dt is about 225l
    How many flow pumps do I need ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  8. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    minimum, 2 * 5000L/h
     
  9. Mewik

    Mewik

    Joined:
    29 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    376
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Melkbos, Cape Town
    I had cheap sunsun pumps in my tank and when I replaced them with an mp10 the difference was night and day. The wavemaker lets you get away with a higher flow without blasting your corals 24/7. All of my corals especially the lps corals open way more now than they did when using cheap pumps. 2 cheaper pumps on an intermittent switch would be much better than a plain flow pump IMO, at least then they are not hitting a couple of corals non stop from one direction.
     
  10. Visser

    Visser MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Willows,Pretoria /Brits
    @Nemo84, can you perhaps give us the dimensions of the tank?
    Depending on which type of wavemaker you plan to use as well? What did you have in mind?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  11. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    depending on your rock work, scaping and corals. So the answer depends on how much your flow will be impeded by rocks and corals. Obvious that the flow in an empty tank will be vastly different than a fully stocked tank.
     
  12. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    Plus, another variable, how think is your wallet?

    SunSun is dirt cheap but they do the job in their way.
    Vortech its at the top end of the affordability index.

    New Seio with the build in controller is awesome. I got one. But I think it will be too powerful on a 225L system. It is max a 15000L/h pump. But at the price, very nice. Although it is controllable, you cannot set the output rate as you can do on other controllable pumps. You can set the wave actions.
     
  13. zak

    zak

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2011
    Posts:
    772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    I've got the Seio Wavepump in my standard 4ft(240L) and its great.. Depending on the dimensions of your tank, you could place it lower down in the tank to prevent water splashing out the top..
     
  14. Nemo84

    Nemo84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Mar 2013
    Posts:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    oslo beach
    Tank dimesions are 1000 x 500 x 540 ( lxbxh)
     
  15. LCornelius

    LCornelius Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    The Seio's will work great in your tank.
    They are much cheaper than vortec and tunze.

    I however prefer Tunze pumps.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - wave makers Forum Date
Wave Makers In Stock Pet Lovers Emporium 14 Nov 2016
[wtd] Jebao wavemakers Wanted 6 Jul 2016
Wavemakers Beginner Discussions 18 Apr 2016
How many wave makers? Beginner Discussions 2 Nov 2015
WEEKEND Specials on JEBAO wavemakers, Livestock and loads more!!!!! Sponsor Specials 7 Aug 2015
Double Deals on Jebao wave makers and stunning livestock specials Sponsor Specials 17 Jul 2015
How to determine what wave makers and how many to use Beginner Discussions 26 Jun 2015