waterboy unit - changing prefilters and membrane

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration' started by dogstar, 23 Mar 2010.

  1. dogstar

    dogstar

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Guys,

    I just got my new membrane and pre-filters from the waterboy for my waterboy ro unit.

    I cannot for the life of me open the pre-filter parts to put in the new cartridges. How do you do this?

    I have tried turning anti-clock wise to open, but they will not budge? Do i have to pull them off? Or do i have to open the water inlets first?

    At a complete loss here.

    Managed to open the membrane compartment, but how to you get the actual membrane out, i tried pulling, not luck, do i turn that anti clockwise?

    Please help.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
  4. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Lol, shouldnt have gone to gym, the workout i just got trying to open this thing, its crazy.
     
  5. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    LOL Dogstar..... I should not confess this. But - not "been there - done that" yet ;)

    Where's your "Strange" circular "screw-type thingy" that you got with the RO unit? Do you have that still?
     
  6. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    bought the unit second hand, i got no extras with the unit:(
     
  7. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    okay, i realize i need some sort of circular spanner which i didnt get when i bought the unit second hand. But what about the membrane, how do you get that out?
     
  8. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    Car oil filter changing belt ;)

    JB I have one you can borrow if you need
     
  9. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    LOL Frans - many thanks. I have mine still - somewhere.... I just need to try and find it again! ;) LOL! Cool man! I appreciate the offer!
     
  10. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    how does this belt work?
     
  11. FransSny

    FransSny

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2008
    Posts:
    5,697
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hermanus
    basically a rubber circle with a handle on one end. You pull it tight, and use the leverage from the handle to loosen. Just make sure you get the rubber / woven ones...not the chain models.Midas stocks them
     
  12. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Dogstar - it is a rubber belt.... It get's tightened around the RO unit, and then it's "easy" to loosen.....
     
  13. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    will look for the belt at midas. Thanks.

    What about the membrane? I managed to open that compartment, but, i cannot get the membrane out. Tried pulling a bit, but it wont budge. Do i need to turn it or what?
     
  14. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    You need one of these babies for the pre-filter housings...

    [​IMG]

    The membrane does tend to stick a bit as they are normally in there for 2 or 3 years, a bit of gentle jiggling and pulling and it should eventually work itself loose.
     
  15. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Damn, simple little tool, saves so much effort. Thanks Viper. I was told i should look out for it at a water purification shop. Will try look for one, or the oil filter changing belt.
     
  16. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    I funny enough opened mine this last weekend, they just unscrew however you do need to get quite a good grip and turn quite hard, they can sit tight, but just keep holding pressure on, sometimes the rubber seal is FT.

    The RO membrane just pushes in, so to get it out just pull hard and twist at the same time, I used a pair of pliers on the piece of plastic that come out of the membrane.
     
  17. dogstar

    dogstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    505
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    jhb
    Mine are stuck tight. Tried for about 20 min to open it with no luck. Will have to get that tool or the belt to open it.

    Thanks for all the help guys, much appreciated :)
     
  18. lIghty

    lIghty

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Westville, Durban
    Just remember, they don't have a mother, I thought of it as a stress relief.....maybe I just have to much stress:lol:
     
  19. viper357

    viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    4 May 2007
    Posts:
    27,990
    Likes Received:
    782
    I'm sure one of the LFS's near you should sell the 'spanner', should be pretty cheap too, if not then perhaps Marco can advise you as to who stocks them separately.
     
  20. Pete

    Pete

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Under the sea
    Dogstar if you dont come right give me a shout (PM) I can get you one of the spanners
     
  21. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Take a plier and yank it out dude!
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - waterboy unit changing Forum Date
Help with Waterboy RO unit Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 13 Mar 2013
replacements for waterboy RO unit The Waterboy 16 Apr 2012
Waterboy Unit ( Im Lost ) Beginner Discussions 25 May 2011
Waterboy RO unit Pumps and Waterflow 8 Jun 2008
Thanks to the waterboy General Discussions and Advice 3 Feb 2015
TheWaterboy MAXI-CALCIUM!!!. BACK BY POPULAR DEMAND!!! The Waterboy 20 Feb 2014
The waterboy maxi-zorb carbon back in stock!!! The Waterboy 20 Feb 2014