Water volume and wavemakers

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by HOT SAUCE, 15 Jun 2014.

  1. HOT SAUCE

    HOT SAUCE

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2012
    Posts:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Manzini / Swaziland
    hi all

    this is something that I have been experiencing for a long time and although its not something that is life threatening to my system I would just like to get better understanding of.

    my tank is a 1.2 x 0.45 x 0.53 and with the sump it holds approximately 300 liters of water. I have two wavemakers... a mp10 and another one rated for 13000 lph (not sure of the make). when I feed my fish I switch both wavemakers off because I feed directly in front of the wave makers and don't want the food to get blown all over the tank. now the interesting part.. when I switch off the wave makers the water in the return chamber in the sump drops by about 2-3 centimeters which is equivalent to about 3-4 liters causing my ATU to strategy dumping RO water ... when I switch the wave makers back on the water goes back to its normal levels. the irritating part is that I have to switch my ATU off during feeding to prevent it from filing up fresh water and affecting the salinity in my system.

    does anyone know why this happens and with and what can be done about it.. I do t mind switching the ATU off but most of the time I forget to switch it back on causing the water level in my sum to eventually drop even further ...
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. gMAN

    gMAN with the plan

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2010
    Posts:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Houghton Estate, Johazzardousburg
    I've experienced similar, I suppose the flow pumps naturally push more water thru the overflow and by turning them off, the water rate decreases thereby lowering the level in your sump. I don't turn off the flow pumps anymore, like watching the feeding frenzy at meal time...
     
  4. gMAN

    gMAN with the plan

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2010
    Posts:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Houghton Estate, Johazzardousburg
    What can be done? I think if you add a ball valve or gate valve to your over flow, you can control the flow at most times or you can lower the sensor of your ATU. You'll need to play around with it until you get it right.
     
  5. Qball_V1.0

    Qball_V1.0

    Joined:
    8 Oct 2012
    Posts:
    241
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East London
    Maybe just put the atu and the other controller on the same switch/plug?
     
    Last edited: 15 Jun 2014
  6. ShaunSwindon

    ShaunSwindon

    Joined:
    22 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    523
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    ...or don't turn off your power heads. Your Fish might enjoy the realistic movements of the food being pushed by the current.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Water volume wavemakers Forum Date
Did you know that Ozone is 10x more effective than UV in water volume, for cryst... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 14 Jun 2015
AMOUNT OF LIVE ROCK vs WATER VOLUME Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 25 Jul 2013
Increasing Water Volume. Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds 3 Nov 2011
JacquesB New (old) Reeftank - total water volume +-1500 litre Supersized Tanks 14 Nov 2009
Actual water volume vs swimming space. General Discussions and Advice 11 Sep 2009
Water Volume Beginner Discussions 14 Sep 2007
Cooling of Large Water Volume Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 20 Jun 2007