Water Temperature

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by LCornelius, 29 Jan 2013.

  1. LCornelius

    LCornelius Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    I think Im a idioot!

    My sump reads 27 and my DT 34. This is with the same gauge.
    The probe in my DT is on the sand, but right under my 250w MH light.

    Could the direct MH have such a massive effect on the probe?

    Going to move it under some LR out of MH direct contact.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Visser

    Visser MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Willows,Pretoria /Brits
    @LCornelius, Could be that your thermometer is set to read the "outside" temperature...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  4. Visser

    Visser MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Willows,Pretoria /Brits
    I know my thermometer has an inside/outside temperature reading function & i have more than once accidentally pushed the select button which gave me a great fright when my temperature either read 17 or 35. Only after reading the manual i found the problem...
     
  5. RocketRooster

    RocketRooster

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Alberton
    My temp goodie also has the in/out rubbish. And I always have to squint to see which is it showing. It's compounded by the fact that it defaults to 'in' when you switch it on, which shows ambient temp.

    Definitely not designed by ze chermans, ja?
     
  6. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Thanks guys, but 100% sure of the inside and outside setting!
    Temp was definitely inside ;)
     
  7. Noddy

    Noddy

    Joined:
    25 Jan 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordview
    wow thats warm inside
     
  8. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,626
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    Feel the water with your finger, a temp difference that big you won't need a thermometer to tell the difference. Is that the dt temp thought out the tank?
     
  9. Visser

    Visser MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Willows,Pretoria /Brits
    Try to insert the temperature probe wire completely into the water as the temperature isnt measured only by the tip on these aquarium type thermometers.
    It measures the resistance in the entire wire to convert to temperature...
    Electricity 101: high temperature, high resistance. Low temperature, low resistance.
    Normally it doesnt make a difference as the inside & outside temperature doesnt differ more than 10 degrees, but when it goes higher than 30degree difference, it will make a difference...
     
  10. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    So indirectly if the MH is cooking my wire it could affect the reading?
     
    Last edited: 29 Jan 2013
  11. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Will try that tomorrow, did not want to stick my paws in the tank after taking a swim.
     
  12. Visser

    Visser MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2011
    Posts:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Willows,Pretoria /Brits
    Yes, the wire is called a thermocouple or thermal wire... We use them a lot where i work...
    We actually calibrate them every 6months...
    The mh would definitely effect the reading if there is enough lenght of the wire heated by the mh lamp...
     
    LCornelius likes this.
  13. LCornelius

    LCornelius Thread Starter Moderator

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Durbanville (CPT)
    Great thanks! Let me try something else tomorrow and then check the temp!
    Appreciate your input
     
  14. RocketRooster

    RocketRooster

    Joined:
    11 Dec 2012
    Posts:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Alberton
    Good to know. I've draped my probe wire over the light unit bracket to keep it out of view. That might be giving me an inaccurate reading.

    Not that it matters much yet though - no chiller and my heaters are unplugged.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Water Temperature Forum Date
Ways to reduce Water Temperature General Discussions and Advice Thursday at 13:24
Fluctuations in water temperature Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 28 Jun 2016
Water Temperature Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 12 Mar 2013
Urgent help needed Water Temperature problems Urgent Help Needed 15 Jul 2012
water temperature Boyu TL450 and TL550 advice 1 Jun 2012
Water Temperature General Discussions and Advice 8 Oct 2010
Waterchange Temperature Water Parameters and Additives 7 Jan 2009