Water quality on 130 L nano

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by knut-ove, 26 Feb 2009.

  1. knut-ove

    knut-ove

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    245
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Norway
    Hi.

    I have been running my 130L nano tank for five weeks now.
    Got some LS in for a few days back.
    I tested my water quality today, and here are the results:

    Temp: 26,7
    Ph: 7,8 <-- How do get this to be more stable on higher rate?
    Alkalinity: 7,4 Dkh
    Calcium: 450
    ammonia: 0.09
    No2: 0
    No3: 2,5
    Magnesium: 1200 <-- also a little low i think?

    I am do to make a 10% water change today, i take one once a week.

    My question is how do i get the parameters to become stable?
    After what i understand nano`s are harder to keep, does this means that i have to use some sort of buffers to keep water stable?

    About the Ph value, I live in a new house that is build to be pretty closed with regards to air flow and have a balanced ventilation system. Can it be that my co2 isen`t freash enugh?

    I have two Tunize 6025 inside the tank so sircultain of the water shoud be good enough.

    Hope someone can educate me a little on this.
     
  2. Guest




  3. Apollo

    Apollo

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Fourways
    Hello knut-ove,

    Stability in a tank comes only when there is a balance between your bacterial population and the amount of Ammonia , Nitrates & Nitrites etc. produced.

    Your tank is still pretty new , so some of your parameters will swing up and down a bit. This is quite normal and will settle in time.

    Your pH is a little on the low side . This may be due to your salt mix , but can also be due to dissolved CO2 and O2 concentrations not being at a balanced level. I'm not an expert though and there could be other factors.
    Unless the ventilation in your house and close to the tank is very poor , IMO the chances are fairly minimal that the amount of CO2 is causing the pH drop

    Yes, you can buffer the pH upwards by means of additives but IMO I wouldn't do so at this point.First look at other causes.

    Here's an interesting article on Low and High pH levels:

    High pH: Causes and Cures by Randy Holmes-Farley - Reefkeeping.com

    Low pH: Causes and Cures by Randy Holmes-Farley - Reefkeeping.com

    How many waterchanges have you done ?
    Have you measured the pH on the water & salt mix you use for waterchanges ?
    What LS do you have in your tank at present ?

    Be careful of what you add to your tank. My view on this is "If you can't test for it ... don't add it "

    Just a thought;)
     
    Last edited: 26 Feb 2009
  4. OP
    knut-ove

    knut-ove

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    245
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Norway
    I have changed 10% of the water every week. 4 changes.
    I have not measured the pH on the water, but i will. I am also changing brand of salt to a noon pro salt (have been using RedSea pro salt up until now)

    I have in my tank at the moment:

    2 Clowns (Ocellaris)
    3 Damsel.
    1 landmower Blenny
    2 cleaner chrimps
    5 eremites
    8 turbo snails.
    1 leather finger coral
    1 button coral
    1 pincushion coral

    Thanks for the links regarding pH, and i will definitively not put something into the tank before i am 100% sure that it is the right ting to do;)
     
  5. Apollo

    Apollo

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Fourways
    Knut-ove,

    Just a question : Was your nano setup from scratch or did you use water & rock from a mature system ? ( Sorry I can't remember whether you already mentioned this in another post)

    The reason I ask is because you already have a fair amount of livestock in your tank after only 5 weeks.

    Sometimes you will get a "bad" batch of salt which can result in a lower pH. I seem to recall a thread some time ago where there was mention of different salt brands and the experience other reefers have had . Can't remember what the thread was called though :p
     
  6. Ross

    Ross

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    798
    Likes Received:
    6
    That is a lot of stock for 5 weeks old.
    Did you cycle this tank as I doubt it would have cycled at this stage and that would account for your problems.

    Are you hooked on the Damsels?
    The reason I ask is they are cheep and a lot of people start off with them, but they get aggressive and can be almost impossible to catch at a later sage when your scaping is all sorted out.
     
  7. OP
    knut-ove

    knut-ove

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    245
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Norway
    The system was bought used, so i got the LR and about 30L of water with it.
    Yes, but the tank seems to have finished the cycle (I tested water quality during the process)
    I will search for it. Someone told me that the "pro" salt has got a lot of trace elements in it, and if you don`t have a lot of corals the trace elements tend to pile up. (The salt i am changing to don`t have trace elements)
     
  8. OP
    knut-ove

    knut-ove

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    245
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Norway
    No i am not hooked on Damsels, but i was shopping for LS in the LFS that was nearest to me (3 hour's drive) And all they got was Damsel:( Not the hottest fish, but a start
     
  9. Apollo

    Apollo

    Joined:
    25 Sep 2008
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Fourways
    Mhhmmm. Knut ove , once again just my opinion but trace elements are good and neccessary for a healthy system. Trace elements are not just used by corals.

    Besides , your water changes will also help in ensuring that you don't get a build up of excess nutrients etc. ;)
     
  10. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Knut, what salt are you using ?
     
  11. OP
    knut-ove

    knut-ove

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    245
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Norway
    I have been using RedSea pro, but now I got another that is not Pro type. in other word without the trace elements. I have had quite a algae growth , due to too much food inn the water. But the last few days after my clean up crew got bigger and applying phosphate remover I see that i am winning the battlekillkanga
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Water quality nano Forum Date
distiled water quality General Discussions and Advice 5 Jul 2017
Lab quality water tests @ discounted prices @ Pet Stop SA Sponsor Specials 21 Apr 2017
Perfect Water Quality? General Discussions and Advice 20 May 2013
2 Ocean's Aquarium Water Quality 2011 Beginner Discussions 7 Jul 2011
Quality of Two Oceans water Water Parameters and Additives 9 Mar 2011
Water quality General Discussions and Advice 22 Aug 2010
water quality for hard corals General Discussions and Advice 30 Mar 2010