Water for marine tank

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Devank, 12 Apr 2010.

1. Devank

Devank

Hi All, I was just wondering if buying a Ro filter for around R1500 (5 stage) and buying marine salt for around R700 per 20Kg is the correct thing to do. What brands are recommended? I made teh mistake of bring sea water from DBN only to find out from the pet store that this increases the nitrogen levels.

Thank you for your time.

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. mnd123

mnd123

mmmm, depends where you got your water from, but that sounds like some sucky advice from the LFS

Try Marco @ The Waterboy - he is a sponsor and will sort you out for that amount for the RO unit - he is really helpful to boot!

I get Aquamedic salt from Idol Marine (also a sponsor) for that kind of price - a little more perhaps, give Luis or Rob a call.

Marc

4. Singularity

Singularity Hmmm amper!

Hi and welcome Devan, i think that water will be good to use, by i have no experience with natural salt water so lets hear what the other guys have to say, looks like someone wants to make a sale, all be it that you will need the RO unit and salt mix in the future

5. mnd123

mnd123

Damn Devank, sorry for my manners - welcome!

6. desertfox

desertfox

hi guys im also keen on knowing if there is anything wrong with fresh sea water as i stay i stone trow away from the beach i do regular bi weekly changes with fresh sea water and had no probs yet my moorish idol which i rescued with a big fungal growth on his head has recovered fully within a week and is doing great.

7. brentnorm

brentnorm

Nothing wrong with NSW. It's really down to personal preference and availibility.

8. Dane

Dane

I have always used NSW, without any problems whatsoever. However it is somewhat prefiltered as it comes from the cape town aquarium. That said, taking the water from a clean, unpolluted beach might even be cleaner... Harbours are a terrible source of pollutants.

9. Devank

Devank Thread Starter