Water Change Problem

Ari

Reaction score
Hi guys, On thursday I did a 50L water change on my 400L system and on Sunday I put in a DSB using playsand that I washed properly (15cm). Straight after the water change on Thursday all my corals closed and they still look closed/weak.:( Must I give it time? And one more thing I bought 2 sand sifting starfish Saturday. The one is moving and going under the sand but the other one is on the sand and he has only lifted his arms now and then... is he dying? My fish are like always

Thanx in advance:)

hay bud sorry to here im still new to this so cant help much but will be tagging to see what the pros have to say

Hi guys, On thursday I did a 50L water change on my 400L system and on Sunday I put in a DSB using playsand that I washed properly (15cm). Straight after the water change on Thursday all my corals closed and they still look closed/weak.:( Must I give it time? And one more thing I bought 2 sand sifting starfish Saturday. The one is moving and going under the sand but the other one is on the sand and he has only lifted his arms now and then... is he dying? My fish are like always

sound strange, ok first to check is your salinty, whats it sitting at?
did you use nsw or salt mix?

also what water did you use to mix the salt and what salt did you use?

Tridan my salinity is at 1.20 and temp is at 26... What does saltmix or nsw mean? I used the same salt with all my water changes from the Seachem Reef Salt bucket...

I used RO of course

Tridan my salinity is at 1.20 and temp is at 26... What does saltmix or nsw mean? I used the same salt with all my water changes from the Seachem Reef Salt bucket...

Do you mean 1.020, its a bit low optimum is between 1.023 and 1.025

NSW is natural sea water
Saltmix is what you are using mixing salt and ro

Oh ok thanx understand:thumbup: Yes I mean 1.020 I'll try get it up

Thanx guys but is this really the problem to the corals??