Wanting to start

Discussion in 'New Members' started by spillay, 23 Jun 2013.

1. spillay

spillay

Hi All,

Reason for me joining is not really for me but my dad who is now 62, I live 7000 km away in West Africa on a Long Term Assignment but from Gauteng (Joburg) to be exact.

I have some knowledge into Aquariums as I owned 2 fresh water tanks successfully over the years.

So I am coming down for my kids summer holidays next month (winter in SA :()

Now you may ask for my dad, well its like this, my mum passed away 4 months ago, now the old man after being married for decades is lonely, at his age its tough. So I spoke to him and told him you need to find a hobby, it will keep you occupied and give you something to pass time.

He has always been a huge fan of the marine/reef tank world but never got that chance to get into it.

So as a hobby/gift to him, I want to start him up with a marine set-up, what I am looking for something like the RSM Tanks but as starting off, not sure I want to invest 20 - 40K. Something simpler would work though, something like the Nuvo Tanks from Innovative marine.

Where can I find the Nuvo Tanks or are there other recommendations from the experts on this forum?

I dont want something massive that is going to be complex and difficult for him to work with but rather a Fish Only tank for now and then we can see how it goes and then grow into Coral etc.

As I am out of SA now for almost 7 years so not sure where all the Aquarium shops in JHB, so your advice would be great.

Budget is very flexible and I am interested in the highquality products thats not going to fail after a few weeks. I have been reading about a lot of "Plug and Play" marine tanks, maybe you guys/gals can help on this as well.

Thanks

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. zakiyya

zakiyya