Vortex repairs - very urgent

Discussion in 'Pumps and Waterflow' started by Tim S, 30 Jan 2012.

  1. Tim S

    Tim S

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi all, does anyone know where / who can service and repair Vortex MP40 controllers. I have both my units malfunctioning and need to get them fixed quickley.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Tim S

    Tim S Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Preferably in Cape Town .....
     
  4. Pete

    Pete

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Under the sea
    Hi Tim S. As far as I know they can only be serviced by the supplier and they are in Midrand
     
  5. durleo

    durleo

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    durban
    If it is just the controller then just get the MP40es upgraded drivers. They cost about R1100 and it is a straight swap. You will have the added benifit of Ecosmart modes.
     
  6. Tim S

    Tim S Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    @durleo R1100 x 2 for something I paid plenty for already. Eish it does not feel right. What is the diffirence that the Ecosmart adds to the functioning of the pumps?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  7. AfricaOffroad

    AfricaOffroad

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ballito, KZN
    What is the problem with your units?
    Any idea what caused both units to fail?
     
  8. Tim S

    Tim S Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    @AfricaOffroad I have 2 units. They run on Reefcrest Random mode on anti-sync. The slave unit has been working but it does not run smoothly. What it does is it 'gallops'. It seems the power supply from the controller is not constant. As I explained in anther thread some time back, it runs like a car enjine which has a racing cam. It cannot idle smoothly / constantly. So it is in constant state of either acceleration or deceleration if you can understand what mean. The faster the speed setting the worse the jurking action is. I could live with this as I have them running on Reefcrest Random which does not get to full speed. The master unit stopped working last week with the light displaying red. The motor does not spin at all. I stripped this one out and wanted the slave to work independantly meaning to be able to change the setting on it as it was the only unit still running. I wanted to change the speed up on the blue mode as flow has been lost due the the other pump being down, and it would not change to any other settings. It currently is running but it's running very slowly.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  9. AfricaOffroad

    AfricaOffroad

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2010
    Posts:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Ballito, KZN
    Did you reset the slave unit so that it will run as a free standing unit?
    Perhaps, it is "looking" for the master unit, hence it always running in idle mode?
     
  10. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Do the controllers have close line of sight. Mine gave me crap a few years back because they werent close enough despite having line of sight. Otherwise try and reprogram them by clearing the memory and creating the master and slave again.

    If they are broken, you will have to return them to where you bought them or a pet shop that keeps Aquarium Depot stuff, who will in turn send them to Aquarium depot in Joburg for repairs. Unfortunately AD wont allow you to go directly to them and only via a pet shop so you may have to buy a few cheap sun suns to keep you going while they are repaired as it could be a while
     
  11. Tim S

    Tim S Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town

    In the past, once I unplug the power to the master unit, the slave works independantly automatically on all available settings.
     
  12. Tim S

    Tim S Thread Starter

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cape Town
    An update, got one pump running after a re-set as suggested. The second unit still needs workshop repairs and therefore need to take it somewhere to be sent in. Any advice?
     
  13. Ridwaan

    Ridwaan

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    66
    @srs777
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Vortex repairs very Forum Date
Vortex XL Diatom Filter Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 28 Mar 2014
[wtd] Vortex wave makers Wanted 27 Jan 2013
vortex/cyclone filter Protein Skimmers, Mechanical Filtration 8 Sep 2011
Overflow Box Vortexing... General Discussions and Advice 7 Jul 2008
Zetlight Repairs Lighting 2 Nov 2016
[wtd] Repairs to Pharos 240w & manual Wanted 30 Aug 2016
Chiller repairs Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers 14 Dec 2015