Vortech pump placement

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by pvv, 27 Mar 2013.

  1. pvv

    pvv

    Joined:
    17 Oct 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    roodepoort
    Hi i need help with the placement of my mp40,as my specs is 1600x650x650 and my overflow is in the middle of my tank.I have placed it on the right side for now but i am not sure can someone assist me pls:(
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    :welcomewave: Have fun
    That would be fine. Do you have any other flow pumps in the tank? One or two on the oposite side would be perfect, obviously another MP40, so that they can work in unison?
     
  4. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    Place it on either end of the tank, little bit off the centre. More to the front and a bit up. In 10 o'clock position. So that it misses the corals and rock stack.
     
  5. leslie hempel

    leslie hempel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    14,546
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Gonubie East London
    i have changed the name of the thread to "vortech pump placement" you should get a better response now ;)
     
  6. pvv

    pvv Thread Starter

    Joined:
    17 Oct 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    roodepoort
    riaan thanks man i have put more pics on i will reset the mp40 tonight how far from the top and what setting,had it on lagoon,now on nutrient some thing,still new with this pump,thanks for your help
     
  7. pvv

    pvv Thread Starter

    Joined:
    17 Oct 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    roodepoort
    thanks a lot app it
     
  8. pvv

    pvv Thread Starter

    Joined:
    17 Oct 2011
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    roodepoort
    i only have the one mp 40 for now will get later,or i must put my old wave maker in just for now
     
  9. carlosdeandrade

    carlosdeandrade

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    8,230
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    North Riding, Jozi
    Yeah, put your old one in, there is never enough flow. This will also keep your tank from having dentritus settlement
     
  10. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,163
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    your side panel is 650 by 650.

    First depending on your rock stack, and how high it is. If flat I would place pump in the centre.

    Else if high rock stack towards the back of tank, I would place pump at about 200mm from the front and 200mm from the water level.

    It really depends on your live roack stack and coral placements. You do not want to blow water hard into softie or LPS corals. Where SPS would love it.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Vortech pump placement Forum Date
NEW EcoTech VorTech QD Pumps available Jungle Aquatics In store now and online... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 8 Apr 2015
EcoTech shipment received including VorTech pumps & Radion fixtures. Aquarium Depot 28 Mar 2013
[wtd] vortech MP40 pump Wanted 12 Jan 2013
We now stock the full range of EcoTech VorTech Pumps and Radion LED Light fixtur... JungleAquatics.NET BLOG 5 Nov 2012
Vortech Pumps really worth it? Pumps and Waterflow 25 Jun 2012
Vortech Pumps - 2 x MP10 or 1 MP40 Pumps and Waterflow 26 May 2011
Vortech: 2 pumps on 1 controller/power supply? possible? Pumps and Waterflow 15 Apr 2010