vodka dosing

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by shane, 28 Oct 2009.

  1. shane

    shane

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Hi All,
    I have been doing somereading on the net about vodka dosing, and I have a question.
    When one doses vodka into the tank, do you have to dose a bacteria as well.
    All the articles that I have read dont mention about dosing a bacteria.If the bacteria is also dosed then when is it dosed?
    Cheers
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. jaquesdp08

    jaquesdp08

    Joined:
    25 May 2009
    Posts:
    960
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    ladybrand
    no you dont need to dose bacteria, but read all you can and take it slow... you can casue alot of problems..im a bit pushed for time now otherwise i would of explained everything..
     
  4. shane

    shane Thread Starter

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Thanks for the reply, just reading up on this and I was wandering about the bacteria that is skimmed out of the tank.
    Cheers
     
  5. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    It is good to add new bacteria every now to prevent a single strain of bacteria becoming dominant. Besides eating all the nasties in the tank they also eat one another and a stronger strain can become more dominant
     
  6. shane

    shane Thread Starter

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Should this be done even if I am not dosing vodka, or is this only relevent to vodka dosing?
    Cheers
     
  7. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    It should although the vodka provides a food source for the bacteria
     
  8. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    Also remember that vodka and bacteria additions can only be done with the skimmer. This is becaus ethe skimmer removes excess bacteria which would otherwise overpopulate the water and run the tanks oxygen levels down
     
  9. davidfr7

    davidfr7

    Joined:
    1 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West rand
    If you are running an ATS can you vodka dose ?
     
  10. shane

    shane Thread Starter

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Thanks for the info Tony,
    What would happen to the tank if only vodka was dosed and no bacteria was added?
    Would this result in a algae bloom?
    Cheers
     
  11. Tony

    Tony

    Joined:
    23 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    4,093
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Honeydew, Johannesburg
    David you can run an ATS although both the bacteria and algae will be competing for nutrients. Bacteria like Prodibio will eventually destroy macroalgae by starving it of nutrients

    The bacteria present will multiply in order to reduce your N and P but like I mentioned earlier a strain of bacteria can become dominant
     
  12. shane

    shane Thread Starter

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Thanks for all the info again Tony,
    I will continue to read up about this form of reduction.It sounds great but if not done correctly then big trouble. I have put together a small scrubber to assist the tank, and I am considering looking at getting some bacteria as I have not dosed the tank for a long time. It maybe time to introduce some new strains again.
    Cheers
     
  13. jaquesdp08

    jaquesdp08

    Joined:
    25 May 2009
    Posts:
    960
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    ladybrand
    just remeber that vodka is not a strain of bacteria but food for the current bacteria to live on.. if you have a scrubber it will be useless really for you to dose prodibio or microbacter or seachem stabilty,as the bacteria will start to use up all the nutrients and the scrubber will become useless... id say either start dosing prodibio wich im using with success or microbacter or use the scrubber. u can then still add other bacteria but i wont use vodka then..
     
  14. shane

    shane Thread Starter

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    durban
    Hi Jaquesdp08,
    Thanks for the input.
    I realize that vodka is food source, but I have not dosed bacteria in my tank for a long time.
    Cheers
     
  15. IMarine

    IMarine

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    walmer estate capetown
    Hi guys carbon source a great thing to use but not for newbies ,if your tank has been running for a year or longer no problem ,brightwell has got bio fuel ,excellent product but beware over dosing is danger red zone becarefull i dose every day bio fuel with bacter7 one day and the other stabality ,its better to dose 2 strains of bacteria then one, and lowering nutrient levels to low is not good unless you going totally sps other wise half the dose and pls pls do not over dose and when dosing carbon source pls make sure that kh levels is at 9-10 so that ph is in levels of 8,2-8,4 and it is better to dose bacteria with your carbon source
     
  16. Afsal

    Afsal

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Dbn,Kzn
    guys is sugar a type of bacteria as well ????
     
  17. ben lloyd

    ben lloyd

    Joined:
    23 Jun 2008
    Posts:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    kzn dundee
    because every thing that taste good is bad for you:lol:
     
  18. riyadhessa

    riyadhessa

    Joined:
    21 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Cape Town

    Nope sugar is an carbon source...
     
  19. davidfr7

    davidfr7

    Joined:
    1 Aug 2009
    Posts:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West rand
    I know some of you guys say that if you got a new setup you must not add Vodka. But the up side of better skimming and clearer water. Why should we not ! :(I have not got a problem with algae in my DT or on my LR. If i put 1ml to every 100l how is that going to hurt my setup ?

    Please i'm just trying to understand this
     
  20. Ridwaan

    Ridwaan

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    66
  21. IMarine

    IMarine

    Joined:
    20 Oct 2007
    Posts:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    walmer estate capetown
    Slmz ridwaan excellent read i remember that i posted some time back about dosing and said i tested it o,1mill per 100lts and it worked so i was about right
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - vodka dosing Forum Date
Vinegar vs Vodka dosing vs Biocubes Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 31 Oct 2014
Help with Vodka Sugar Vinegar Dosing Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 7 Nov 2013
Vodka Dosing Chemical Filtration / Low Nutrient Systems - LNS 8 Jun 2011
When can I start vodka dosing again? SPS Corals 26 Aug 2010
Vodka dosing article - interesting read Water Parameters and Additives 23 Jul 2010
Carbon or Vodka/Sugar dosing General Discussions and Advice 22 Jul 2010
Vodka Dosing?? General Discussions and Advice 25 Mar 2010