Visser's undergravel denitrator

Discussion in 'Biological/Natural Filtration and Deep Sand Beds' started by Visser, 30 May 2012.

1. Visser

Visser MASA Contributor

Yep, the name says it all.

I have been holding out a bit on an idea i've been testing for the past year & 3 months.
    I call it the Undergravel denitrator .

I know that undergravel filters have been a touchy subject in the past. I think most of this has got to do with the fact that it has been wrongly utilized due to the fact that in most cases, the flow that has been forced through these substrates was done too quickly, & therefore never permitted anaerobic bacteria to form (and also had the ability to form high levels of nitrates due to the organic matter that got trapped inside).

Ok, i will make this sweet & simple. (& the idea is free for anyone to use if they want...)

VISSER'S UNDERGRAVEL DENITRATOR

Introduction:
    I have in the past tried numerous methods of facilitating a working denitrator in my many fish tanks, but never could i find one that is truly reliable.

Firstly, i tried building a coil denitrator unit - This was probably the most difficult method ive ever tried. I was always getting either higher nitrates out than what went in, or got only a bad sulfurous smelling slow dripping unit. (so i decided to carry on)

Next i tried the sulphur denitrator - this unit worked quite well, up to the point where its pump got stuck without me realizing it, & then suddenly restarted a couple days later only to find my whole tank poisoned by the decomposing bacteria.

I then employed a DSB (deep sand bed) which turned out to be a very stable denitrating method, but i could never quite get that beloved 0 ppm nitrate number.

This got me to the point where i started researching other means of removing nitrates from my aquariums water, & that is where the undergravel denitrator was born.