Visser's 100% DIY Nano

Discussion in 'Nano Tanks' started by Visser, 3 May 2012.

1. Visser

Visser MASA Contributor

Hi guys... I finally got to the point where I want to share my new nano system ive been planning for the past 4 months.

Just some background:
    I was looking for a "large" sized nano aquarium for quite some time now but was unable to find one with the capabilities i wanted to install into my new reef... Soooooo. One thing leads to the other & i finally started planning an all in one diy setup. I was on a mission to build the ultimate fully automatic diy nano aquarium i could possibly keep.

The idea behind the nano:
    I was planning to have the maximum sized nano aquarium i could possibly have. As far as i could find out was that a nano size aquarium was up to the 30gallon (115l) range.

Firstly i started playing with sizes for an aquarium that would be nice & capable of holding the nicest aquascaping & highest quantity of corals that i could fit into that volume.
    The product came out to be 550mm wide x 500mm deep x 425mm tall which ends up on 116l.

Next, i decided i wanted to go rimless as i like the look of the open aquarium & not going to keep a lot of fish (more corals)

The tank is going to be an SPS dominated tank with a few polyps, zoas & other small softies to fill the gaps.

Planning the actual build:
    I started doing some hand sketches of what i would like & what could work & downloaded a ton of nano sps tank pictures to see what could work for my tank. So i decided to take the plunge & jumped head first into designing & planning of my tank.

What i needed in the tank design:
    1.A tank in my size range: I dont want any wavemakers or powerheads in my tank so it needs a lot of return pump...
    I dont want any wires (or anything else in the tank except corals, liverock & fish)
    Tank needed to be made of glass to prevent scratched tanks like those acrylic ones. (been there...)