viper357

Discussion in 'New Members' started by GWA, 2 May 2011.

1. GWA

GWA

Hi all
    I am new to this hobby and already it has got me all worked up and very excited.Is there any sort of clubs or get togethers in JHB or the surrounding areas?:thumbup:

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. butcherman

butcherman Moderator MASA Contributor

1stly Welcome to MASA,

We do occactionally have get togethers.

Where abouts in Gauteng are you from?

Do you have any tanks now?

4. Annoying

Annoying

Hey and welcome to MASA!

5. maxisoft

maxisoft

:welcometomasa2:

6. inflames

inflames

Welcome to MASA!

7. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

Welcome to the forum. Have a look on the forums page and you will see a forum called Local Reefing Clubs, there are occasional gatherings held, also the guys are off to Mozambique for some fun, maybe you could join in. :)

8. Tremayn

Tremayn

Welcome :)

9. Tobes

Tobes Retired Moderator

Welcome to MASA, glad you joined us. Seeing that you're new, read the link below on starting a marine tank - valuable info for beginners ;)

10. GWA

GWA Thread Starter

GWA

Thanks to all for that warm welcome.Please help I have noticed that I need to clean out my protein skimmer at least twice a week it has a lot of dirty water in it What may be the cause of this and what is RO water and where do I obtain this water from? I have been topping my take with salt water is this a problem?:thumbup:

11. crispin

crispin

hello and welcome to masa :)

12. crispin

crispin

why not take us through yopur set up a little, as in how big is it, what equipment do you have and do you have any fish and corals yet?

do you test at all, ammonia, nitrate, nitrite and salt in particular?

if you test salt what do you use, a refractometer or a hydrometer and what is the salt content of the tank at the moment?