Very slow Pc

Discussion in 'Forum Suggestions, Feedback and Announcements' started by seank, 4 Mar 2008.

  1. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,986
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    Am I the only one who has this problem. Ever Since the top Pics (Wiki Thingies) has been added, my page waits a long time to open cause it is downloading the pics. Never used to be like that. Or am I halusanating (Spelling) here???- and its allright Dean, you do not need to answer this one...LoL:whistling:
     
  2. Guest




  3. Punk

    Punk

    Joined:
    4 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    678
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    are you on dialup? if so i can imagine it'll take a long time to load all the pics... perhaps one can disable those pics as a "user preference" (for all the dialup guys)? admins?
     
  4. Sparky

    Sparky

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Well, I'm on HSDPA 7.2 and it does seem to take a bit longer... haven't really taken notice till now... lol...
     
  5. Rory

    Rory Admin

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Posts:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    JHB
    Are you talking about on the Forums page? Click on the little - on the top right corner. It doesn't load the pics then until you click the +.
     
  6. cybervic

    cybervic

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    453
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Kimberley
    How much RAM do you have on your machine?
     
  7. OP
    seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,986
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    I have a New Pc (last one packed up about amonth ago), Ram is 1.024 Gig, no dial up- Hsdpa and it never used to be slow, until the piccie thingies came up....
     
  8. Sparky

    Sparky

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    You on MTN? I got kicked off pretty much straight after my post, and only got back on now.
     
  9. cybervic

    cybervic

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    453
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Kimberley
    Hehe, you are a reefer that is 4sure. look at how you type the amount of RAM - 1.024 instead of 1024:p

    Sorry then I cannot help you, without being at/in front of the pc. Hope you manage to sort it out.
     
  10. OP
    seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,986
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    He He, so used to test Salinity, only realise it now:lol: :lol: :lol: :blushing:
     
  11. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Cape Town
    AWESOME Sean! Salinity syntax instead of RAM syntax! Good one man!
    RE you problem with the PC - yeah - the pics COULD perhaps take a bit longer to load - I see that someone (perhaps Viper?) used a new applet for the pics on the main "Home" page.... Perhaps this applet downloads first before loading the thumbnails of the pics.... I don't think it has to do with your connection as such. Perhaps just a way your web-broswer deals with this...

    What web-browser are you using? If FireFox, try IE (heaven forbid ;-), otherwise try and download Opera - and see if there is any change in the issue. Also - perhaps try and clean out your web-browser cache, and PC temporary files.... Defrag your hard-drive, and then see if you have any improvement in the PC speed!

    Good luck man.
     

Recent Posts

Loading...

Share This Page