Vatso - New Tank

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by vatso, 17 Feb 2010.

  1. vatso

    vatso

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    Hi all

    I have not said anything about a new tank I have been wanting!!

    I have had a look at a few tanks & have now decided to go a little bigger.

    as you know I have been in contact with Idol Marine lots, Rob had a tank we spoke about & today I have decided 100% to buy it! we are just working the details out on how to change the tank slightly. I don't like posting before paying but that I will take care of the end of the month!!

    it's a 1.1m X 1.1m x 700 high Cube the sump as the top 1M x 1M Cube in total there will be about 900Ltrs or so of water!!!!

    I am really looking forward to this new tank, I am going to take my time in getting it up & running will buy bits when I can afford them - I am thinking I will be and & running in about 4 months or so!

    I am going to use a 400W MH light on the main display & then use my T5's for the sump & more color if needed.

    Going to have a huge DSB - will be nearly the same size as the display tank.

    Now the fun of deciding how to scape starts :)

    Mark
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    Awesome size tank Mark!
    I had a 1m*1m*600h cube. Use to be a lekker size.
     
  4. Suhayl

    Suhayl

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2007
    Posts:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    18
    Nice size tank man.
     
  5. Tobes

    Tobes Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    9,482
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    A Beautiful place!
    That's a nice size tank Vatso, just save up now already for a decent skimmer rated at 2000l
    Also make sure where you put the tank that the floor can hold the more than 1 ton weight - closer to 1,5 ton if you take LR and the glass and stand into consideration ;)
     
  6. vatso

    vatso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    I dated a girl once that was 1.5 tons LOL - Only Playing :)

    I want to take my time - I am lucky as I already have a tank running so now need to rush!! He says knowing how bad he can be :(

    I want to try create a coral island of sorts where fish have lots of space to swim around or does one make a reef go from corner to corner? I am going to have to see & play I want some open space in the tank.
     
  7. crispin

    crispin

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    12,223
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Lilliehammer, Norway
    i spoke to rob the other day and he mentioned you were looking at getting a new tank which is great news. especially for the naso you have in that small tank.

    please do take into account what a number of people are telling you on masa with regards the speed at which it takes before you stock LS, and which is appropriate LS to stock at which stage. Granted you like to experiment with LS, and do with your tank as you wish to do, although you will have registered that a number of reefers raise more than eyebrows at this.

    Putting up a bigger tank is a great step forward but be careful of the speed it takes to stabilase and be ready for the LR you want to keep. I have the impression that it takes longer than you realise, although i openly state thats my personal impressions based on the way you have kept your tank thus far.
     
  8. vatso

    vatso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    The benefit I have now is there is no rush to put things in - I want to take my time - My current tank is betting better every day & I will have enough time before I need to move the Fish & corals across.

    My idea is to run just the tank with nothing in it no sand or rocks - just the sump DSB - let it cycle for a few weeks.

    & then move the fish across so that I can get rid of any itch the fish might have not that they do. be safe then sorry!! if the fish did have itch could it move into the DSB?

    and then moving some of the live rock that already is in my current tank across. If I move my live rock from one tank to another there should be no cycle needed? I will then cure all fish & live rock in the old tank before moving to the new tank!

    I want to make sure the new system is as safe as possible.

    Mark
     
  9. vatso

    vatso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    An update just purchased a 250W electronic ballast for my new tank & am going to use an Idol Marine Skimmer :)

    I hope the tank will be ready by the end of March - so I can start the cycle - I will be travelling for 2 weeks in SA & the UK.

    what globe should I get? I want a white light rather then blue will use my T5's to give blue color to the tank.

    not sure if I should run a DSB?? thinking rather put Live Rock & some plants in the sump with a scrubber
     
  10. seank

    seank

    Joined:
    24 May 2007
    Posts:
    11,984
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    North of Durban and South of Mozambique
    10000 Calvin will be fine Vatso. Btw, how far is the UK from Norway? :p :lol:
     
  11. vatso

    vatso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    LOL not far enough in fact SA & Norway seem to close

    thanks will get the globe when the tank is ready!

    The tank is going to not have pumps where fish or other stock can get to them! I am going to use jet flow pump protected by glass for circulation will be using 4 pumps

    I am really looking forward to setting up this tank & knowing nothing can get killed in a pump.

    what cleaner crew can should I keep? I am not a huge fan of snails what do they do besides cleaning the glass?
     
  12. Singularity

    Singularity Hmmm amper!

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    2,496
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Potch/Centurion/Brooklyn
    I LOLed !
     
  13. maj

    maj

    Joined:
    13 Oct 2009
    Posts:
    2,054
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town
    goodluck with the new setup,im sure the fish will njoy the bigger tank
     
  14. vatso

    vatso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    pic's soon :)
     
  15. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,165
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    On a cube, a "normal" sump layout is a mission. Do not work out and DSB turns out to be too small. Reason I say this is skimmer compartment minimum will be 350mm. To be able to place your skimmer in it. (Depending on what skimmer you decided on.)
    Return chamber will be at least 150, more likely 200mm, to get return and other chemical reactors in there.
    So that leaves you with max 450mm length for DSB.
    Width, well that depends if you can reach sump from 3 sides. If yes you can go all the way, 1m wide DSB. Else you will get some problems reaching the back. Also reaching and accessing any components, like reactors.

    Else if you place DSB as the back 500mm of sump full length of 1m, With external skimmer and external return pumps in front part of the sump area. All other reactors also in the front part. With skimmer entering DSB in a small chamber and small chaber other side the return pump sucks out. That might work.
    But you will again have the same reach isues to get to DSB if you have to if sump area cannot be reached from all 3 sides.

    And I seriously doubt if you will be able to fit an alge scubber. Maybe if it hangs over DSB, and drops down into DSB. But then make sure that there are some distribution plate under the scrubber, (2 or 3cm under water) or else you will blow the sand away under it. And again, you should be able to reach it.

    Maybe first draw your design on Google Sketchup. Just basic drawing. And put the stuff in sump area where they should be. And see yourself. I know this. Wanted to build a 900mm cube. And nothing fits normal. Just not enough reachable space.
     
  16. vatso

    vatso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    RiaanP you make a great point

    I will take some pics today of the tank & sump & then maybe you can give some ideas.

    The DSB would be square & not long as such.

    the sump is the same foot print as the display tank

    I will use sketch up & decide based on that

    Mark
     
  17. RiaanP

    RiaanP Moderator

    Joined:
    11 Aug 2008
    Posts:
    23,165
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    Centurion
    Just remember, the DSB MUST be as big as possible. The footprint, not talking about the depth part. Too small, and you will be wasting your time.

    And lengthwise, you have 1m. Not a lot actually. Width is ok. So you can get away with a short but wide DSB. But then all the reactos and pumps will be both sides in rather long (from front to back) chambers. And again, if you cannot get to the equiptment from the sides, you will need to go to a doctor to make your arms longer. Also then you always have to remove or open the sides of the sumpt to get to stuff.

    Having a U shaped flow tank, is almost better. With skimmer front corner, flow to back one big DSB, flow to another chamber other side in front. So all your equiptment is in front, in either of the 2 chambers. And you have a DSB of 1m by .5/.6m
    But you must ensure that the back corners do have flow. Or else that is were ugly stuff will settle. My old sump got this problem. Somewhere I got this method designed, if you are interested.
     
  18. vatso

    vatso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    right picture time :)

    Got all my equipment today

    T4 Skimmer (thanks Rob)
    250W MH electronic ballast & 14K Globe
    2 x 6530 pumps for water movement
    1 x 6540 pump for return

    work is to be done on both the sump and main tank

    here is a picture of the sump
    [​IMG]


    main tank
    [​IMG]

    both
    [​IMG]
     
  19. aslam

    aslam

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    671
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Pmb
    Great Vatso,waiting to see it take shape.
     
  20. Loki

    Loki cable tie ninja

    Joined:
    23 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    642
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Lenasia
    bump..
    hows the scopas btw?
     
  21. vatso

    vatso Thread Starter

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    1,733
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    JHB
    Hi Loki

    Scopas was in the tank for 3 days & got sucked into the pump :( did not make it

    when the new tank is up & running I should not have that happen again with the sealed pumps.

    My tank should be ready on Friday :) - Can't wait to start putting it together.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Vatso Tank Forum Date
What happened to Vatso The Sump 6 Feb 2011
Happy Birthday vatso The Sump 16 Aug 2010
Vatso - NP reducing pellets General Discussions and Advice 15 Jul 2010
Vatso Dosing Table Water Parameters and Additives 18 May 2010
Macro algae in display tank - Yes or No? General Discussions and Advice Wednesday at 12:40
My 300lt Tank Medium Tanks 2 Dec 2016
Any tanks for sale in Port Elizabeth Area. Wanted 24 Nov 2016