Using a fire extinguisher as a CO2 source for a calcium reactor

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Reef Maniac, 20 Aug 2011.

1. Reef Maniac

Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

There has been quite a lot of talk/questions regarding sources of CO2 gas and cylinders for use with calcium reactors, so I thought that I should show how I DIY'd mine :biggrin:

The CO2 gas used to refill CO2 fire extinguishers is quite pure, even though it is "industrial" quality, and I have been using this gas for many years now without any problems. I previously used an aluminium cylinder from Azoo, which I bough many years ago, but it recently popped it's emergency relief valve, and I just could not find a suitable replacement - so I changed to a larger fire extinguisher cylinder. These cylinders, being made from steel, are much stronger and thus safer than the aluminium cylinders, and much easier to have refilled, as they are all stamped with the SABS mark.

The Azoo regulator and needle valve were pretty bad quality, and did not last more than a few months. I replaced them with a welding regulator (Argon/CO2 type, used for TIG/MIG welding, and bought from our local welding supplier) and an old Whitey needle valve scrounged off a disused laboratory apparatus (they can be bought commercially from Afrox, I think).

So, here's some photos: Note that the cylinder is mounted upside down. This is rather important, as an unmodified extinguisher-type cylinder has a pipe on the inside going down to the bottom of the cylinder, so as to allow liquid CO2 to be ejected onto the fire that one would normally use this for. It is not a good idea, though, to allow liquid CO2 to flow through the regulator, and turning the cylinder upside-down alleviates this problem. I also chose to mount it on a wooden "stand", to make it portable - I can now move it out of my cabinet (it normally stands next to the sump) if I need space to work around the sump.

[​IMG]