UPS for reef tank

Discussion in 'Test Kits, Controllers, Reactors and Dosers' started by Furbz, 11 Jul 2011.

  1. Furbz

    Furbz

    Joined:
    12 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sandton
    hi guys,

    i have a UPS that is just sitting around.
    i tried hooking it up to my setup to run the return pump only in the event on a power failure.

    however when i simulate a power trip it kicks in beautifully and runs well... for 5min (exactly)
    then cuts off. if i push the button it will run for a further 5min, the cut off. etc.

    so clearly its been designed to run for 5min, then turn off the power??
    anyway of getting around this stupid system?
     
  2. Guest




  3. butcherman

    butcherman Moderator

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2009
    Posts:
    11,685
    Likes Received:
    290
    Location:
    Kempton Park
    maybe the tank draws more current than the ups can safely supply? what size ups is it?
     
  4. KeeganP

    KeeganP

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    53
    Yeah, Make sure it has been fully changed after it was laying around :biggrin:...

    Also make sure you using the correct output section...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 11 Jul 2011
  5. OP
    Furbz

    Furbz

    Joined:
    12 May 2008
    Posts:
    2,253
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Sandton
    i wont be able to tell you now...
    but from what its states to what my pump says it draws it should easily be able to power it. i can click that switch many times and it'll power that pump until i get gatvol of pushing the button to make it start again.
    it runs everytime exactly for 5min. then cuts out.
    very odd
     
  6. KeeganP

    KeeganP

    Joined:
    23 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    53
    what is the make and model of the ups?
     
  7. SIMS

    SIMS

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,008
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Empangeni
    Sounds like a PC UPS that runs while the computer shuts down. Well mine works like that anyways
     
  8. dallasg

    dallasg Moderator

    Joined:
    14 Dec 2008
    Posts:
    16,802
    Likes Received:
    591
    Location:
    Sandton
    there are a couple of issues from experience.
    firstly when your pump starts it draws double the wattage, eg a 60w will use 120w to start, the R&D guys also add some gizmo to our modified sine-wave inverters for pumps to run and some inverters cant sustain the power being drawn.
    and finally your batteries and controller circuit could be shot
     

Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - reef tank Forum Date
Gif_Hasie's 4ft Reef Tank Project Medium Tanks 14 Jul 2017
majestic angel in reef tank General Discussions and Advice 21 Jun 2017
BOYU TL 550 reef tank beginning...=) General Discussions and Advice 8 Jun 2017
My First Reef Tank Journey - WIP Anything DIY Related 11 May 2017
Cycles in Reef Tanks General Discussions and Advice 4 May 2017
Coral Reef Tanks in Germany Local clubs, frag swaps, meets. 16 Apr 2017
Jairus 4ft reef tank Medium Tanks 27 Mar 2017