UPS Advice

Discussion in 'Power cuts' started by Wolve, 10 Dec 2012.

  1. Wolve

    Wolve

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    JHB
    hi Guys already have a ups that i would like to use f possible, dont know much on the electrical side so need some help please.

    UPS Specs:
    1000VA / 600 W

    the batteries it has are as per the attached pic which im sure wont last very long, i want to run a 55 watt pump of this UPS.
    will it be able to charge a 12V deep cycle battery

    IMG-20121210-00692.jpg

    IMG-20121210-00693.jpg
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,063
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    The built in charger will not be able to charge a deep cycle battery. It will take a very long time.
     
  4. OP
    Wolve

    Wolve

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    JHB
    darn i was hoping that might not be the case.

    it has the following batteries "12V/7 Ah x 2pcs" which would be hopeless right.

    so the option would be to use a deep cycle battery with its own charger and use the ups to do the auto change over.
     
  5. OP
    Wolve

    Wolve

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    JHB
    double post :)
     
    Last edited: 10 Dec 2012
  6. renie

    renie

    Joined:
    22 Apr 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberton
    It also looks like you have your batteries in series. This means you have 2X12volt. 24Volt thus. You will need two 12volt deep cycles also in series. Connected as the ones you have.
     
  7. brettb2020

    brettb2020

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    715
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    Ive connected a 100AH to a similar UPS and it worked fine. It did take very long to charge though, as Mariusmeyer said.
    Another thing to consider is that UPS probably has a modified sine wave output. Unless its a DC pump it might not run properly or not run all. It may also run one day but the next day it won't. Been there, done that.
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Advice Forum Date
Advice on Jebao DC pump and plumbing a new tank Pumps and Waterflow 6 Apr 2017
New SPS cube - advice apreciated SPS Corals 1 Apr 2017
Advice on deal Beginner Discussions 31 Mar 2017
Going away practical advice General Discussions and Advice 28 Mar 2017
Advice for moving my tank General Discussions and Advice 16 Mar 2017
Help Need some Advice General Off Topic chats 13 Mar 2017
Advice on sump needed RSM Red Sea Max tanks 15 Feb 2017