Upgrading waterflow

Discussion in 'Pumps and Waterflow' started by ImAClown, 20 Apr 2009.

  1. ImAClown

    ImAClown

    Joined:
    20 May 2008
    Posts:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    How are you guys doing?

    I've been reading through some articles and posts about watermovement and I clearly don't have enough , especially after I've read the article in the post "how important is waterflow?".

    I'm quite embarrased to to say that I have 3 old fashioned powerheads for circulation in my tank.
    2 * 1200lph and 1 * 3000lph . . .
    My tank is 1,8L x 0,45w x 0,45 h

    The sunsun pumps look like a really good deal. How do you guys think it compare with other bigger brand names ?

    Also what is the main difference between a normal "powerhead" and a "pump". Is it only the different spread of the water or is there more to it ?

    I thought about buying 2 * 5000lph sunsun pumps and next month 2 more ?

    :1:
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    For the price those Sunsun powerheads are very good, but probably need more regular replacement. Also I wouldn't trust the flow rating, like a brand like Tunze, so make sure you buy a higher rated pump than you need.

    Tony has one in his tank, so he will give you personal experience.
     
  4. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    It is to do with the flow of water coming out of the pump. Here is a pic courtesy of Tunze. The top one is a STD pump.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. ImAClown

    ImAClown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 May 2008
    Posts:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    How many of those would you reckon I need in a 1,8m and where does the sunsun lie relative to the graph shaun posted ?
     
  6. crispin

    crispin

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    12,223
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Lilliehammer, Norway
    Iamaclown, i have a 1.8m and i really battled to get decent flow going in the beginning. You would see in my thread that the wavemakers (resun) i had didnt ahve attachments and I had endless problems. I eventually got a vcouple of seios on a controller (2xM1500 and 2xM820) which for the price i paid were great value. Good pumps moving water around.

    then I got a second hand Tunze and the difference in the way it moved the water around was incredible. But they are expensive.

    If i were you, i would contact a sponsor and ask for prices on the Seio's. Then in future IF YOU NEED TO, look at upgrading to Tunze. NOTE it IS an upgrade, you get what you pay for.

    ps I have never seen or owned a sunsun so i wont comment on them
     
  7. crispin

    crispin

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2008
    Posts:
    12,223
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Lilliehammer, Norway
    also if you intend to keep sps succesfully, the quality of your water movement is of importance and you may need to take that into account. but for moving water and getting detritus out of rocks and dead spots, Seios are fine :)
     
  8. Fishy Steve

    Fishy Steve Hiden super user

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Posts:
    578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    CT
    I have the 6000 LPH twin head sunsun it has an amazing spread. At least twice as wide as my Seio820. I will most likely never buy another powerhead brand. I won't touch Tunze unless i win the Lotto or learn to Cr@p out R200 notes. Much better things to buy with that ridiculous amount of money.
     
  9. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    I have never owned a Tunze power-head. BUT, do own, 2 x ReSun 15000 Wavers, 3 SEIO's and 1 SunSun (and some LifeTech's behind my life rock)...

    I am equally impressed with these 2. INCLUDING the SunSun..... The ReSuns (I have found) have the widest spread of the 3, because of the outlet being 67mm in diameter.... The SEIO's outlets are around 52/55mm... the SunSun's outlet, is also the same as the SEIO's.... around 52/55mm....

    I have QUITE some movement inside my 2 metre tank, though. My fish get a REALLY DECENT exercise routine....
     
  10. ImAClown

    ImAClown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 May 2008
    Posts:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I almost set to buy the Seios until I saw the sunsun thread. I don't like to buy cheap stuff that I have to replace 2 weeks later but they are indeed a third of the seios price ? I'm hoping someone with some experience with sunsuns can give me some indication whether some 5000lph sunsuns will work in my tank. I'm definitely aiming to have sps, but not anytime soon, I need loads more experience :D
     
  11. ImAClown

    ImAClown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 May 2008
    Posts:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh thanks, thats what I wanna hear :p So you would rather get a sunsun than a seio when taking price and flow in consideration ?
     
  12. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Hi IamAClown - I have the 5000 litre per hour SunSun. I was REALLY impressed with the pump when I put it in my tank. I paid R125 for mine, from one of our sponsors, NAAC. I have added the power-head about 2 months ago, and except for some growth on it, is it still going VERY VERY strong......
     
  13. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    At this stage - I would be willing to take a chance, and say "yes"..... I know that MOST of the pumps in NAAC's tanks are SunSun's..... they do have ONE VORTECH in their coral tank (the HUGE U-shaped tank - have a look at their web-site).....
    All the pumps in their fish only tanks are SunSuns.....
     
  14. ImAClown

    ImAClown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 May 2008
    Posts:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats awesome news, the one thing I really can't understand is how they are able to sell it for such a price, it's almost a give-away - I paid R360 for a 3000lph lifetech at builders warehouse :D. How many of them do you think I shoud aim for? About 4 ?
     
  15. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Depending on the size of your tank. Of course - this also depends on what you want to keep. For SPS - and many soft corals, the MORE the better....
    (I have +-54000 litres per hour water flow inside my 2 metre tank)..... For LPS corals - many don't like that huge flow....
    For fish - they don't care ;) As long as you feed them ;)
     
    ImAClown likes this.
  16. ImAClown

    ImAClown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 May 2008
    Posts:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Atm I'm just going for softies and lps - so I dont want the flow to be too strong. There will be a big difference between 2 sunsuns and my current 2 powerheads right ? I think the waterflow also had a hand in the algae problem I had.
     
  17. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    What current power-heads do you have?
     
  18. ImAClown

    ImAClown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 May 2008
    Posts:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    2 * 1200lph
    1 * 3000lph - I have to decrease its flow otherwise the substrate ends up all over the place - blows one veeeery straight path
     
  19. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Brand? Do they have those "narrow" outlets?
     
  20. ImAClown

    ImAClown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    20 May 2008
    Posts:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 3000lph is a lifetech and the other 2 are atman and aquaHQ.
    yah their outlets are no more than 1,5cm.
     
  21. jacquesb

    jacquesb Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 May 2007
    Posts:
    17,868
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Cape Town
    OK - that's where the problem lies, IamAClown....... Marine reef tanks work ABSOLUTELY BEST with a VERY wide, dispersed, and random/chaotic flow..... you should aim to get as RANDOM and turbulent flow as possible, in your tank..... Corals/fish do NOT like a JETSTREAM being blasted at them at a constant velocity..... it does NOT happen in the sea.... so.... should not happen in our tanks either....
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Upgrading waterflow Forum Date
Upgrading Large Tanks 5 Jan 2016
Upgrading going bigger as you do! General Discussions and Advice 25 Jul 2015
Upgrading to LED - top options anyone? Lighting 23 May 2015
Upgrading General Discussions and Advice 12 Jun 2014
Upgrading my tank Medium Tanks 8 Jan 2014
Upgrading tank, some questions, still a beginner :D New Members 19 Aug 2013
Upgrading sump advice needed General Discussions and Advice 5 Jan 2013