Tunze Multicontroller 7096 fan club

Discussion in 'Pumps and Waterflow' started by 2balive, 26 Jul 2012.

  1. 2balive

    2balive

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Camps Bay, Cape Town
    Bough one off these controllers and two nanostream 6055s some time back. The combination is stunning, but running them in a 128l nano calls for constrain. Combined they can put out up to 11000 lph, has 1253 settings (not sure what the real number is, but it is a lot). Found all this a bit intimidating and have not tested all the features as I am worried to rip my LPS of the rocks.

    Though it would be a good place to have a support group to discuss the controller, the options available, what works and what doesn't as well as trouble shoot some stuff. I am also not so good with reading manual.

    PS, this is not a Tunze vs Vortech debating thread.

    Question 1: I assume that the setting for storm mode is the frequency that the storm occurs? Is the a way to test storm mode? Would like to see if my tank survives and have my finger on the kill switch.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Ridwaan

    Ridwaan

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    66
    Would be nice if these controllers could allow one to change the flow modes at specified times of the day automatically.

    Dont even know, but can the 7096 do this?
     
  4. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    There is no way to test the storm mode on the controller as far as I know. I would not test storm mode in such a small tank with delicate LPS.

    Ridwaan, the controller can not change flow at user specified times of the day. Closest is the night time mode using the photocell which is not what you want.

    I run 3 pumps in 2 different tanks off of the one controller. I have the main display running my 2 6105s in wave mode and the 3rd pump, a 6055, is in the frag tank on a different channel.
     
    Last edited: 26 Jul 2012
  5. Greg Bridger

    Greg Bridger

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    East London
    So glad someone has taken the initiative to start a thread on these pumps and controller. I received my controller yesterday and am running it with two 6055's in my new 900 x 450x 600 tank. I took a quick look at it this morning before work so I cant wait to get home and start playing.
    Any suggestions on pump positions? My tank is a room divider so they need to go on the one end and I would think at the bottom facing up so as not to kick up the substrate
     
  6. Seabass

    Seabass

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    2,383
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Gonubie
    Greg, you going to enjoy them. You need to take coral placement into account. So a bubble coral for eg should not get the brunt of the flow.

    Also don't place them near your overflow as this will prevent detritus from flowing over into the sump.

    Also your aqua structure can be setup to best match the flow you want to achieve.

    These don't need to be turned up so a 40 / 60 % power split on a long pulse 2-3sec could work nicely.

    I have adjusted flow about 20 times over the past year, now I have many rics and have turned the flow down again.

    Play around with them.
     
    Last edited: 26 Jul 2012
  7. 2balive

    2balive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Camps Bay, Cape Town
    Looks best case is that I will have to sit an hour and watch it to see storm mode :-(

    Do you think that the feed botton will override storm mode?
     
  8. 2balive

    2balive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Camps Bay, Cape Town
    Ideally in a long tank you want one pump on each end. If not possible, would put it at the bottom of the pannel facing slightly in and up at around 45 deg or less.
     
  9. 2balive

    2balive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Camps Bay, Cape Town
    Is anyone else using this in a Nano?

    In my Boyu I need to set the wave controller it at 0.34sec to get a standing wave. It is an OK wave, about 1.5cm high, but I find that it does not create a lot of low.

    Have tried other settings with higher start % and then up to 100%, but if the pumps don't cycle from 0% to a number, found that I could not create a standing wave.

    Any sugestions, would like a standing wave and good/strong/random flow ;)
     
  10. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    I used it with a 6055 in my JBJ Nano. It was also on 0.32sec pulse mode. You wont get much random flow and wave with just one pump. Best is to use your return for random flow as it bounces off of the pulses of the tunze.

    On the feeding button, I think it will override storm mode.
     
  11. 2balive

    2balive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Camps Bay, Cape Town
    Thanks, I am running 2 x 6055.
     
  12. Anita

    Anita Sponsor

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    539
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Durban
    The best thing to do is to test it on your tank, then decide how to play with it...George
     
  13. Anita

    Anita Sponsor

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    539
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Durban
    The feed button overrides everything....will stop the storm for the period set. George
     
  14. Anita

    Anita Sponsor

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    539
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Durban
    Marthinus Hattingh [***********************]

    The wave is not meant to have flow all it does is move a lot of water, to and fro. Rather use the pulse mode and use the 2-3 second pulse from 30 to 100% flow on the pump
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 6 Aug 2012
  15. Greg Bridger

    Greg Bridger

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    East London
    Can anyone explain to e what the "ramp" function does on pulse mode
     
  16. Greg Bridger

    Greg Bridger

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2011
    Posts:
    279
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    East London
    Bump
     
  17. williet

    williet Look at the shiny LEDs!!!

    Joined:
    29 Nov 2010
    Posts:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Amanzimtoti
    Hi

    As I understand it provides a gentle start rather than starting from a dead start on pulse ?

    Protects the pumps imho
     
  18. 2balive

    2balive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Camps Bay, Cape Town
    To scared to test storm mode without me being there. But with the current control feature, I will have to set it for an 1h interval and then wait around (and remember about it) to see what it does when it comes on.

    Doing manual storms at the moment, think my fish gets scared now if they see my Mac near the tank ;)

    Thanks.

    Thanks, ended up here. Using 2.5 pulse with 30% to 70%.

    Still tempted to add a third pump and run the wave AND pulse at the same time. LPS looks stunning with the wave running. :biggrin:



    @Anita. I recall reading that the pumps operating voltage can be set and that will push out less or more depending on the voltage selected.

    Can you point me where to read about this?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  19. mariusmeyer

    mariusmeyer

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2009
    Posts:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Jukskei Park, JHB
    @2balive, the power supplies that I have with my pumps have little jumpers in them that you can change. The higher the voltage of the jumper the more flow it will give. If you use the 24V jumper then you will get the max flow as rated on the box. I have seen on the US forums that the new pumps have an adjustable knob and not jumpers anymore. I am not sure if we the stock in SA ships like this or still with the jumpers.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  20. 2balive

    2balive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Camps Bay, Cape Town
    Thanks, will take a look tonight.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
  21. Anita

    Anita Sponsor

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2011
    Posts:
    539
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Durban
    We still have the jumpers with the pumps, should have arrived in the box......cheers Anita
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Tunze Multicontroller 7096 Forum Date
TUNZE® Multicontroller 7096 Tunze SA 8 Nov 2009
Tunze 7092 Multicontroller review. Tunze SA 2 Mar 2012
[wtd] 2 x MP 10 to swap for 2 TUNZE 6105 + 7905 controler Wanted 24 Nov 2016
[wtd] Tunze wavecontroller 7092 Wanted 1 Oct 2016
[wtd] Tunze 9410 or bubble magus curve 5 Wanted 9 Sep 2016
TUNZE Specials - Friday 26 - Monday 29 August Tunze SA 25 Aug 2016
[wtd] tunze 7240.27 driver Wanted 2 Aug 2016