Tunze CaCo3

Discussion in 'Water Parameters and Additives' started by Mekaeel, 12 Sep 2007.

  1. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    howzit guys.ive replaced the media in my calcium reactor to the tunze brand.is there any specific ph settings on the ph controller that is required to help dissolve this media?my reactor previously had the ARM media and the ph controller was set at 6.8.should i just leave it this way?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Bracken
    I have recently topped up my reactor with the same media, and run it slightly lower. (6.6) Measure your reactor effluent alk and adjust accordingly.
     
  4. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    Just wondering at 6.6ph what is you kh on the output of the reactor. Only asking as the instructions on my new one mainly talk about getting 25d KH.
     
  5. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Thread Starter Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    cool thalion.will drop the ph settings.will have to test for alk out of the reactor
     
  6. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    It is a total diff way of setting up a reactor, but to me it makes sence as you then know that the media is been desolved, you can also push it up to 35dKH.
    I am getting my new ph meter from andrew today so I will tell you the PH as well. My hanna one gives me greef and don't trust it.

    I can send the PDF from Germany if you like. Have tried cut and past but does not work well.
     
  7. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Thread Starter Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    ivan dont you feel this media is actually beter for the reefocto reactors,asz the grain size is larger and it doesnt push upwards
     
  8. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Thread Starter Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    i take it you are getting the saga unit thalion?im also using the saga ph controller,and im please with it
     
  9. Shaun

    Shaun Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    29 Aug 2007
    Posts:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    KZN
    I think so, just told him I wanted a ph meter . Will find out later. The Hanna works but I don't think it likes salt water.
     
  10. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Thread Starter Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    yeah im sure you will be getting the saga unit.
     
  11. gaz19

    gaz19

    Joined:
    10 Jun 2007
    Posts:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    durban,kloof
    sorry to hijack mekaeel, but i got my ph set at 5.92 is this to low?
     
  12. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Thread Starter Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    i think it is a bit low gaz raise it a bit.have you checked your alk and Ca?
     
  13. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Bracken
    At pH of 6.6, I am getting an alk reading of 31dkh leaving my reactor.....

    Yes, the tunze media is slightly larger than the caribsea media. This will only be temporary, as when it dissolves, it will start fluidising again.

    An added benefit of the Tunze media is that it does not contain any PO4. This of course at the expense of natural stuff which contain Mg, Sr and other trace elements..
     
  14. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Thread Starter Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    i need to check up on the alk level from the reactor.but my actual tank has an alk of 8dkh and Ca is 436.
     
  15. irie ivan

    irie ivan MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    6 May 2007
    Posts:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Bracken
    Thats fine, I would advise slightly higher alk and lower Ca, but better to rather not fiddle at the moment.
    Just leave it as is and measure those parameters regularly.
     
  16. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Thread Starter Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    will do,thanks Ivan
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - Tunze CaCo3 Forum Date
TUNZE Christmas Specials Tunze SA Wednesday at 06:01
[wtd] 2 x MP 10 to swap for 2 TUNZE 6105 + 7905 controler Wanted 24 Nov 2016
[wtd] Tunze wavecontroller 7092 Wanted 1 Oct 2016
[wtd] Tunze 9410 or bubble magus curve 5 Wanted 9 Sep 2016
TUNZE Specials - Friday 26 - Monday 29 August Tunze SA 25 Aug 2016
[wtd] tunze 7240.27 driver Wanted 2 Aug 2016
[wtd] Tunze 9004 skimmer Wanted 21 Jul 2016