Total beginner needs advice.

Discussion in 'New Members' started by shawn5643, 30 Jan 2012.

1. shawn5643

shawn5643

Hi all.

I have been bitten by this saltwater bug!

I am a total newbie when it comes to marine tanks although I have been keeping tropicals off and on for the past couple of years.

I have acquired a Boyu MT-50 (80l) tank at a great price and intend to use it for my marine tank. I intend to keep Live Rock, 2-3 Invertabrates and hopefully if all is well after 3 months, 2-4 fish (Goby's and Clowns).

I understand that the current lighting will be totally inadequate for marine fishkeeping.
    Can I add LED lighting to supplement the standard lighting and if so what specs am I looking at, considering the environment I want to create?

Is a protein skimmer a absolute necessity? I want to do this properly, and accept that it will probably be at least 3 months before I can stock any fishes so there will be no eccessive loads on the system.

What is the absolute bare essentials that I will need? - Substrate, test kits, additives, etc?

Kind Regards.

Shawn

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. belindamotion

belindamotion Google Master

4. viper357

viper357 Admin MASA Contributor

Welcome. :)
    Not really, they do offer a kind of safety net, especially on smaller tanks as they can help if something goes wrong, they are highly recommended but if you keep up with water changes and good husbandry then no, a skimmer is not an absolute necessity in nano tanks, but nice to have. ;)

RO water to mix with the salt
    RO water to top up evaporation, do not use tap water.
    Heater
    Very fine sand, like sea sand, not coarse crushed coral.
    Live Rock
    Internal pump/powerhead.