tony

Discussion in 'New Members' started by tony1975, 7 May 2015.

  1. tony1975

    tony1975

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south africa
    Hi guys, just started a new tank, its 3 days old now and i just added the live rock.
    Doesnt look to bad i think. Please share any comments so i can learn more about my new hobbie.
    Here are some pics.
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Great you are starting a new tank.

    Are you sure that is "live rock"? I don't seem to see any live growth on the rocks from the pic's you post.

    Another observation is you return is a short section of clear hosing that is submerged. This could lead to a sump flood on power outs if you have not catered for a siphon break.

    I like the fact that you have positioned your flow pump in the middle of the tank. Correctly positioned you will get "2" gyre flows going.
     
    Last edited: 7 May 2015
  4. tony1975

    tony1975 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south africa
    Hi nemos, i was told it was live rock only got it in today.
    Im still learning a little abt the set up, i connected everything yesterday. I just need to connect the reactor.
     
  5. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Tony live rock normally has "live organisms growing on it.
    To me it looks like old dried rock. There are no visible organisms that one would expect and no algae of any sort.
    I prefer rock that is dried and treated as you don't import pest critters like aiptasia and flat worm etc.. But you must make sure that it has been properly treated and is PO4 free.
     
  6. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    IMO the only reactor that you might need to connect up at this stage is the is a PO4 reactor if the LR and substrate is leaching PO4.

    Test for PO4 .

    BTW what reactors do you have in mind?
     
  7. ty

    ty

    Joined:
    6 Aug 2012
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    cape town
    Welcome
     
  8. Nemos Janitor

    Nemos Janitor

    Joined:
    7 Feb 2009
    Posts:
    8,384
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Joe's Mountain
    Last edited by a moderator: 26 Nov 2015
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - tony Forum Date
some sort of stony coral ID Needed 13 Nov 2013
a BIG Thank-You to Tony! The Sump 1 Apr 2011
Tony's new cube General Discussions and Advice 19 Feb 2011
Stony Corals Trade ban alert Diving, Collecting and Environmental Discussions 17 Feb 2010
Featured System for June 2009 - Tony Featured Tanks - TOTM 17 Jun 2009
New post maniac Tony The Sump 28 May 2009
GMAA meeting @ Tony's Local Reefing Clubs 30 Apr 2009