To vacuum or not?

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Advice' started by Mtroboer, 11 Jun 2008.

  1. Mtroboer

    Mtroboer

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    637
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kimberley
    HI, as a rule I vacuum my substrate everytime I do a waterchange. But I am getting more and more concerned about removing beneficial organisms, nutrients and the like this way. What do you guys think, is it a good idea to do this?
     
  2. AdS Guest




    to hide all adverts.
  3. Mike

    Mike Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    12 May 2007
    Posts:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    the Motherland
    What sort of substrate is it?
     
  4. Mtroboer

    Mtroboer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    637
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kimberley
    It is a fine crushed coral, here is a pic(Ordinary seasand to the left and in the middle the same sand that I use as a substrate):


    [​IMG]
     
  5. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    dont siphon off you DSB,you just gonna mess it up.if you got a shallow sand bed in your display tank,siphon the detritus of that
     
  6. Mtroboer

    Mtroboer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    637
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kimberley
    Thanx Mekaeel, I only siphon the display(about 7cm's deep) and leave the DSB undisturbed.
     
  7. Mekaeel

    Mekaeel Moderator MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    8 May 2007
    Posts:
    24,229
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Point Waterfront Durban
    thats cool!!
     
  8. Mtroboer

    Mtroboer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2008
    Posts:
    637
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kimberley
    Thanx Mekaeel!
     
  9. All spark

    All spark

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    ok i have a question..if u siphon the displays sand to get the detris dont u siphon some of the sand up..
     
  10. Warr7207

    Warr7207

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    12,781
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    JHB
    Yip, clean the sand and put back in the tank ;)
     
  11. All spark

    All spark

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Town
    ok kwl as my new tank i have substrate the old one was bare base and to me bare base looks shit..and a was thinking siphon after a month al my sand wil be gone....so now i also under stand...thanx
     
  12. Reef Maniac

    Reef Maniac MASA Contributor

    Joined:
    15 May 2007
    Posts:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    I never "vacuum" any of the sand (display or sump), as doing so removes or kills the sand-living critters.

    Hennie
     
Recent Posts

Loading...
Similar Threads - vacuum Forum Date
Fresh water battery vacuum Fresh Water Tanks Discussion 29 Jan 2015
Boyu vacuum cleaner for skimmer cup General Discussions and Advice 19 Jun 2014
Vacuum Pump General Discussions and Advice 2 Aug 2013
Vacuuming your DT General Discussions and Advice 23 Sep 2009