Thinking of starting a nano

Discussion in 'Nano Tank advice' started by brokedown.melodies, 10 Jun 2009.

1. brokedown.melodies

brokedown.melodies

Hey guys

I'm thinking of starting up a nano tank. Was looking at the Boyu TL-550. Not sure what other similar options are available in Cape Town? What kind of mods are recommended? I'm fairly new to all this... had a freshwater tank when i was much younger.

I'm thinking of starting with FOWLR and maybe adding some coral at a later stage. Stocking ideas are:

1 x common clownfish
    1 x firefish
    Maybe some kind of goby with a paired shrimp...
    And the CUC.

Would I be able to add anything else or would that be pushing it?

Would the lights be okay for some kinds of soft corals?

Thanks a lot...

2. AdS Guest

to hide all adverts.
  3. RUAN

RUAN

a warm welcome from us all

masahello

4. riyadhessa

riyadhessa

brokedown welcome

5. Jaak

Jaak

Welcome to MASA!!

6. jacquesb

jacquesb Retired Moderator

Hiya Breakdown Melodies! VERY INTERESTING NAME! ;)
    A VERY WARM WELCOME to MASA! Great to have you on-board!

To answer you questions - look at our sponsors here in Cape Town. I know that NAAC (Somerset West) and Sam's Aquariums (Bergvliet) sells these nano's. This is the bigger of the lot. It does come with a tiny skimmer, as far as I know - BUT, this skimmer is a wee bit useless...

I also know that the water overflow is also always an issue - so, I know that the owners always end up changing the overflow..... not 100% exactly sure how, though - because I don't own one (never have - I MIGHT invest in one still).......

PLEASE just take into account that keeping marines in a nano tank, requires a HUGE lot more maintenance, that what a bigger tank (with more water volume) would require.

Your stocking list is 100%.... especially to start off with. Later on, you can perhaps add a small pygmy angel.....